The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by pkuk, Nov 16, 2002.

  1. pkuk

    pkuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi

    I have a new box with nothing on yet, how do I FTP to /root/cpanel3-skel to upload new files & is it possible to ftp at root level to access the entire server???
     
  2. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    FTP to root is not always a good option. There is a solution, though. I've found that SecureFX is a secure FTP program. You can find it at www.vandyke.com. I would NOT recommend using a regular FTP program with root (if its even possible).
     
  3. sac-host

    sac-host Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    can anyone post some step by step directions on how to do the SSH transfer... sorry... i'm a newby :)

    Jay
     
  4. cikul

    cikul Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    1. Create new user (ex : user) for your temporary upload

    2. Upload your via FTP to any folder in your /home/user

    3. Login with SSH with your user account

    4. login to root with SU

    5. move to your root skeleton directory
    [quote:2189555222]
    mv /home/user/file.html /root/cpanel3-skel/
    [/quote:2189555222]
    6. Finish...

    Hope this Help ;)
     
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, now here's the tought part. ;)

    How does one code an HTML Skeleton page so that it will display:

    Future Home Of

    &domain name of new account&

    It's the Cpanel specific coding to automatically pull in the Domain name for each new account, is where I get lost.

    Anyone know?
     
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The way we did was modifying wwwacct to create a new file with the domain information and put it in the newly created home directory, then using an index.php we use the following.

    }

    $FILEPATH = &FILENAME&;
    $FILE = fopen($FILEPATH, &r&);
    $a = fgets($FILE, 300);
    $b = fgets($FILE, 300);
    $c = fgets($FILE, 300);
    fclose($FILE);

    Where $a=domain $b=IP and $c=username
     
Loading...

Share This Page