The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Setup: Apache2, Ruby, IPtables

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by bamnet, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. bamnet

    bamnet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I just got Cpanel install on my CentOS 5 server and there are a few things I'm trying to do but I just can't figure out how.

    Is there any way I can upgrade to Apache 2? Right now its running Apache 1.3.7, I've tried the Current and the Edge builds and none of the seemed to upgrade me.

    I've heard various reports about the ability to run Ruby on it, right now I've activated "Ruby Gems" which I assume allows user to run Ruby components but I'm not completely sure (personally I don't do much Ruby work).

    This probably isn't related to Cpanel, but I'm not sure. I'm having problems with iptables firewall where a firewall policy seems to get reinstalled after reboot that blocks users out from connecting via port 80, 2086, 2083, etc. I've tried iptables -X and iptables -F and that temporarily cleans it, but it keeps coming back.

    The last thing, I checked the box to upgrade to Mysql 5 but in the user area it seems Mysql 4 is still running, why isn't it upgrading?

    If you can offer any support that would be much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Brian
     
  2. Koreru

    Koreru Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Apache2 is only available in Edge. After upgrading, you need to run easyapache or "Apache Update" from within WHM to actually upgrade Apache.

    For MySQL, you're talking about the radio button in Tweak Settings, right? Did you read the little note underneath?

     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you install Ruby?

    /scripts/installruby
     
  4. bamnet

    bamnet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    /bin/sh /home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/libtool --silent --preserve-dup-deps --mode=compile gcc -IZend/ -I/home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/Zend/ -DPHP_ATOM_INC -I/home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/include -I/home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/main -I/home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3 -I/opt/xml2/include/libxml2 -I/home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/ext/date/lib -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I/opt/libmcrypt//include -I/usr/include/mysql -I/home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/TSRM -I/home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/Zend -I/usr/include -g -O2 -prefer-non-pic -c /home/cpeasyapache/src/php-5.2.3/Zend/zend_execute.c -o Zend/zend_execute.lo

    cc1: out of memory allocating 728 bytes after a total of 16158720 bytes
    make: *** [Zend/zend_execute.lo] Error 1
    !! 'make' failed with exit code '512' !!

    Any idea why I get this when trying to build/Enable Apache2 with PHP 5?
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you trying to compile on a VPS server?

    The message you just quoted said your system is out of memory
    which is most common among low end VPS servers where the
    resources are often far too limited to be running Cpanel let
    alone compiling a lot of software.

    If you are actually dedicated and have root access, do a
    "cat /proc/meminfo" and that should give you a better idea
    of your memory situation

    For VPS servers, do the following instead:
    "cat /proc/user_beancounters"
     
  6. bamnet

    bamnet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is a gig of ram not enough? Its a dedicated server with root access, I must be doing something wrong if I can't compile. I only have 94Mb free... How can I save my memory?
     
  7. Parahosting

    Parahosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You could save memory by deleting useless files that you don't require, or checking what's consuming so much of your space. 1GB of ram is way more than enough for your case. What are your system specs, if you would post them?
     
  8. bamnet

    bamnet Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I tried turning off all the services in service manager except for HTTPD and SYSLOGD which seemed to free up more memory, but when I went to run the easy apache script, I got the same out of memory error. Here are my system specs: (straight from cpanel)

    Processor #1 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #1 Name: Pentium III (Coppermine)
    Processor #1 speed: 927.228 MHz
    Processor #1 cache size: 256 KB

    Processor #2 Vendor: GenuineIntel
    Processor #2 Name: Pentium III (Coppermine)
    Processor #2 speed: 927.228 MHz
    Processor #2 cache size: 256 KB


    Memory Information

    Memory: 1032440k/1048512k available (2043k kernel code, 15296k reserved, 846k data, 232k init, 131008k highmem)


    System Information

    Linux studentdev.union.rpi.edu 2.6.18-8.el5 #1 SMP Thu Mar 15 19:57:35 EDT 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux


    Physcial Disks

    hda: SAMSUNG CD-ROM SN-124, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
    sda: Write Protect is off
    sda: Mode Sense: e5 00 10 08
    sda: Write Protect is off
    sda: Mode Sense: e5 00 10 08
    hda: ATAPI 24X CD-ROM drive, 128kB Cache, (U)DMA


    Current Memory Usage

    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 1035352 722944 312408 0 41680 537120
    -/+ buffers/cache: 144144 891208
    Swap: 2031608 0 2031608
    Total: 3066960 722944 2344016


    Current Disk Usage

    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/mapper/VolGroup00-LogVol00
    31G 4.3G 26G 15% /
    /dev/sda1 99M 11M 83M 12% /boot
    tmpfs 506M 0 506M 0% /dev/shm
    /usr/tmpDSK 485M 14M 446M 4% /tmp
     
Loading...

Share This Page