The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to email spoofing. please direct me right thread.

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by hetch, Feb 4, 2009.

1. hetch

hetch Active Member

I am new to hosting thing. I am receiving spam from my OWN email address.

My host said, somebody spamming from my vps.

Can anybody direct me a thread that explains how to stop this? I did search the forums. It is too confusing. Everybody told some solution but If something is working on one site, it is not working on other.

thanks much.

2. arunsv84

arunsv84 Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the username part (left of the @ symbol) of the forged FROM address is not a mailbox that you set up in your Control Panel, then you are receiving the unwanted messages through your default address. To stop receiving these messages, you could set your default address to ":fail: no such address here" so that you will no longer receive mail addressed to non-existent addresses at@yourdomain.com. Or, if you want to keep your default account, but just want to disable incoming email for one particular address, you can create a forward in your Control Panel for the unwanted address and set it to forward to ":fail: no such address here" to bounce the email or ":blackhole:" to simply delete it.

If the forged email address is one that is important to you, that you need to receive email at, there is nothing that can be done short of using the email filters in your Control Panel to blacklist the FROM addresses in the undeliverable notices, such as postmaster@yourdomain.com. However, this is not recommended because messages FROM those type of addresses are often important and most of the time you will want to receive them.

3. hetch

hetch Active Member

My host said they are using my vps to send spam.