The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to Optimizing SQL

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Tammy_Moore, Jul 12, 2016.

1. Tammy_Moore

Tammy_Moore Registered

Jul 12, 2016
    Blevins, AR
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have WHM and cPanel on a dedicated 16mb RAM Centos server with GoDaddy. I have gotten comfortable with the WHM and CPanel GIU and only just have hit our first point where the server doesn't seem to have the "omph" to do a task asked of it with default setting. In this case, backup and restore of large math courses in Moodle. All others do fine. I am a high school teacher (no access to IT) using Moodle now going on 12 years, but definitely not a server guru. Literally, not counting supervised help using SSH to migrate data from one server to another, yesterday was my first solo SSH session. I successfully installed and ran SQLTuner. I am proud of that baby step. lol

After getting the results, I learned to change some of those settings in the PHPmyAdmin SQL command/query interface (I think that merely makes it temporary, but it is a start). Not all of the settings could be changed such as the recommendation for innodb_buffer_pool_size. That led me to understand there should be a my.cnf file I should edit. I do have experience editing the php ini file using a text editor through cPanels File explorer. The problem is it is not where it should be (show hidden files is on). I am stumped for what to do next. I am not sure if it is not there because it didn't need it before with the standard defaults, if the use of WHM moves it to a different location, or if it is a GoDaddy Managed Dedicated Server thing and that hides it.

Any help for this teacher new to tweaking SQL and SSH is much appreciated.