The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** New Tomcat 4.0.3 Installer **

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dgbaker, May 5, 2003.

  1. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    #1 dgbaker, May 5, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2004
  2. vladgur

    vladgur Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Installed, enabled servlets in whm and IsItWorking servlets seemed to be working.

    I must add that there were warnings and exceptions during the install, but it was scrolling so quickly that i couldnt tell what went wrong. It might make sense to insert some user interaction into this process..
     
  3. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Those warnings are from the original part of Jarakta installers included. We did not nor do we intend to rewrite those portions.

    Those library warnings unfortunatly have been there since the beginning. In most cases they are not fatal errors just warnings of deprecated things that are still there but no longer valid.
     
  4. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Ok, instalation went fine, but i think i have problems with java...

    /var/log/messages says:
    May 6 21:13:06 plus1 kernel: grsec: attempted resource overstep by requesting 4096 for RLIMIT_CORE against limit 0 by (java:4595) UID(0) EUID(0), parent (init:1) UID(0) EUID(0)

    And, ofcourse, Tomcat cannot start :(

    What is wrong....
     
  5. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  6. gemby

    gemby Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pula, Croatia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Looking forward for 4.1.x instaler to be aviliabile:D

    And if it's possible, upgrade version from 4.0.3


    Best regards...
     
    #6 gemby, May 19, 2003
    Last edited: May 19, 2003
  7. speckados

    speckados Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Acequias :: Granada :: España
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    I like try to install tomcat.

    I see that j2sdk-1.4.0-fcs
    it's already installed on my system (new system)

    I need unistall ?

    Just decompres and run install.sh ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Mo

    Mo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    First Log into Root via SSH

    then enter

    wget http://software.dgbaker.com/cptomcat4.0.3.tar.gz

    You will see some percentange and bytes transfer stuff... Wait a minute (depending on your server connection) and when it reached 100% enter:

    tar xfzv cptomcat4.0.3.tar.gz jsp-install

    After its done then enter:

    cd jsp-install

    and then enter

    ./install

    Once that is done check that the following is in your httpd.conf:

    AddModule mod_jk.c


    And also add the following right after it:

    Include "/usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.0.3-src/build/conf/auto/mod_jk.conf"

    Then type the following:

    /etc/init.d/chkservd restart

    All should be well

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. speckados

    speckados Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Acequias :: Granada :: España
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    A lot of thanks. I doubt, and not see any REAMDE or instructions.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. davidg3

    davidg3 Registered

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm guessing this wont work on cpanel on FBSD? untarring it in saw some rpm file so just guessing

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Mo

    Mo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well ... after looking throu the http.conf and reinstalling Tomcat I was scratching my head untill I commented out the LoadModule jk2_module + AddModule mod_jk2.c then restart apache tomcat was alive again! :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth

    just wondering where to put the WAR or srvlet files for the users after enabling servlets on a domain?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    http://www.pc-brother.com/servlets/IsItWorking

    its not working i placed the IsItWorking.class in /home/user/WEB-INF/classes/
    didnt work

    then moved it to /home/user/public_html/WEB-INF/classes

    still aint working

    do i need to copy the web.xml file also?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    anyone?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can check these.

    Make sure the httpd.conf file has the correct info for that account.

    Check in the server.xml file in /usr/local/jakarta/jakarta-tomcat-4.0/build/conf and see that it is set okay. Something like this -

    <Host name="domain.com" appBase="/home/USER/public_html">
    <Context path="" reloadable="true" docBase="/home/USER/public_html" debug="1"/>
    </Host>
    <Host name="www.domain.com" appBase="/home/USER/public_html">
    <Context path="" reloadable="true" docBase="/home/USER/public_html" debug="1"/>
    </Host>

    Spelling mistakes can happen.

    Also which installer did you use, mine listed in this thread? or from layer2 download?

    If you want PM me and we can look at it for you if you would like.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    i have this:
    <Host name="pc-brother.com" appBase="/home2/pc/webapps">
    <Context path="" reloadable="true" docBase="/home2/pc/webapps" debug="1"/>
    </Host>
    <Host name="www.pc-brother.com" appBase="/home2/pc/webapps">
    <Context path="" reloadable="true" docBase="/home2/pc/webapps" debug="1"/>
    </Host>

    where should i put IsItWorking.class in webapps ? or create a directory called WEB-INF/classes inside it?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    App base must be to a publically accessible area like public_html, in that area you should have;
    /WEB-INF/classes
    /WEB-INF/lib
    /WEB-INF/web.xml

    The servlets go into the classes directory.

    Make sure that there are NO directories called servlet or servlets in the account area.

    After doing this restart tomcat to be safe.
    Then try to access the servlet.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    servlets are working just fine but file .jps aren't working for some reason
    www.pc-brother.com/a.jsp
    isn.t working
    the contents of a.jsp is :
    <%@ page contentType="text/html;charset=windows-1256"%>
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1256">
    <title>
    Hello World
    </title>
    </head>
    <body>
    <h2>
    The current time is:
    </h2>
    <p>
    <%= new java.util.Date() %></p>
    </body>
    </html>

    am i missing something?

    his <virtualhost> has this also:
    <IfModule mod_jk.c>
    JkMount /*.jsp ajp13
    JkMount /servlet/* ajp13
    JkMount /servlets/* ajp13
    </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>

    still aint working?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. perlchild

    perlchild Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You're probably short
    AddHandler .jsp java-server-pages (sp?)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. big

    big Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    i do have this:
    AddHandler jakarta-servlet2 .jsp

    or should i replace it with
    AddHandler .jsp java-server-pages

    ?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page