The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New WHM Install - Page not found

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mthomas9, May 5, 2011.

  1. mthomas9

    mthomas9 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    First time attempting to install WHM. I'm sure there is something small, but I can't seem to figure it out from other posts and forums.

    I'm following the directions here: Quick Start Installation Guide

    Here is what I've done so far:
    Purchased a 512 slice from slicehost.com
    $ yum grouplist
    "Mail Server" was listed under "Installed Groups" so...
    $ yum groupremove "Mail Server"
    ........
    Removed: cyrus-sasl.i386 0:2.1.22-5.el5_4.3
    Complete!

    $ cd /home
    $ wget -N http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/latest

    Got an error:
    Your hostname is not set properly. Please
    change your hostname to a fully qualified domain name,
    and re-run this installer.


    $ hostname
    purlpage (this is what I named the slice during setup from slicehost.com)

    So I changed the hostname...
    $ hostname purlpage.com

    And again...
    $ cd /home
    $ sh latest
    ......
    ......
    Cleaning Up....+.++...Done
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Your system kernel may have been updated.
    This would have occurred in an attempt to install gcc, which is required.
    Before rebooting the system, please ensure that the installed kernel version is compatible with your deployment.
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    $ sudo reboot

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    Then I visit: https://184.106.239.73:2097/ (and nothing)

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    So I troubleshoot...

    $ curl -L http://cpanel.net/showip.cgi
    184.106.239.73

    $ /usr/local/cpanel/cpkeyclt
    Updating cPanel license...Done. Update succeeded.
    Building global cache for cpanel...Done

    $ host purlpage.com
    purlpage.com has address 184.106.239.73
    purlpage.com mail is handled by 10 mailstore1.secureserver.net.
    purlpage.com mail is handled by 0 smtp.secureserver.net.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------

    So what am I missing? Thanks in advanced for your help!

    Marty
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Firewall enabled?
     
  3. mthomas9

    mthomas9 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ya.. I guess there is:

    $ iptables -L

    gives me....

     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  5. mthomas9

    mthomas9 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ahh yes! Thank you!
     
  6. JerrySmith

    JerrySmith Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Please also note that your hostname should be a fully qualified domain name. Setting your domain as your hostname will cause issues in the future.

    I would suggest setting your hostname to: server.purlpage.com

    You can do this with WHM->Change Hostname

    You can then create purlpage.com as a cPanel account.
     
  7. mthomas9

    mthomas9 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Okay.. thanks. I was able to change that before exiting setup.. Cheers!
     
Loading...

Share This Page