The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie --> Backup Problems [moved]

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Jogel, Oct 16, 2006.

  1. Jogel

    Jogel Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I'm trying to backup my Data.
    When I go to the Cpanel WHMx and i click backup I don't have the generate full backup.
    I can only setup the daily / weekly option.
    can you please point out how can I configure it properly.


    Thanks In Advance

    Jogel
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,478
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You generate full backups of an account from cPanel. You configure backups for all accounts in WHM. Two separate things.

    HTH
     
  3. Jogel

    Jogel Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    can you talk me through the WHM settings .
    I want to configure it properly so It backups everything in case something happens.
    or is it better to do it per account ?

    thanks in advance ,

    Jogel.
     
  4. rsaylor

    rsaylor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    if you want to get a full backup and you are root user the easiest way for a single domain is to run from ssh "/scripts/pkgacct username"

    This will create a full cpanel backup then you can either copy that to the backup directory or copy it to the /home directory of another server and run the "/scripts/restorepkg username"
     
  5. Jogel

    Jogel Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    "/scripts/pkgacct username"
    thats the username of the domain i've created right ?
    I have 3 domains
    so I'll have to run it for each ?
    where will i get the output ? i.e. backup.tar ?

    sorry for being retarded.
     
Loading...

Share This Page