The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie questions

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by cetterra, Jan 5, 2009.

1. cetterra

cetterra Member

Hi there...

I am completely new to CPanel and I have some newbie questions.

Today I have a decentralized provider. I have 3 mail services, one for POP3/IMAP(dovecot) and Auth SMTP (postfix), other two servers for MX (postfix, anti-spam, anti-virus and personal scripts). I have 2 web servers, one windows and other linux) I have a dedicated mysql server for my clients, two dns servers and a NAS storage.

Everything here is integrated into mysql database. I manage everything including and updating database rows. But we don't have a Control Center like CPanel, thats why we are studying CPanel.

After some reading about, I noticed that CPanel manage everything into a single server. It is possible to separe the services into different servers? I saw something about clustering in the docs. How this works?

Is it possible to CPanel to integrate with my running services or I have to start everything from zero?

That DVD Quickinstall already installs CPanel or just the minimum OS for installing the product?

Thanks for your time!

#1 cetterra, Jan 5, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  2. Voltar

Voltar Well-Known Member

cPanel supports DNS clustering and remote MySQL. The quick install DVD from cPanel installs the minimum needed OS, and after reboot installs cPanel (if I recall correctly).

Separate mail/webservers aren't supported as of yet. There are some posts around the forum about clustering, personally I haven't tried anything other than DNS clustering and remote MySQL once (Don't use it exclusively).

3. cetterra

cetterra Member

Thanks for the answering.

So, how can I work with a scalable infrastructure?