The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbies should not use SSH - PLEASE HELP ME!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cpc, Feb 7, 2010.

  1. cpc

    cpc Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Alright so here is the raw situation I am facing.

    Basically I wanted to setup a domain name, but my server said there was already an account for it.

    It was very early in the morning, so I had not realized it was made as an addon domain of one of my reseller accounts (that is, the reseller domain had it as an addon domain).

    I followed cPanel's error prompts and deleted its DNS zone before I remembered it was an addon domain.

    I went to delete the addon domain and I got the error that I couldn't delete it because I don't control it.

    So, I went to httpd.conf as another cPanel error message told me, and deleted the entire VirtualHost entry for it.

    I then readded the domain name.

    It worked for about a minute, until I added a redirect in cPanel, for (www or no-www).domain.com to go to sub.domain.com, except I misspelled the domain on the redirect.

    Then, it started redirecting as you would expect, to the misspelled domain name. I found out, and I went to change the redirect in cPanel. I did so, and it was listed as successfully redirecting to where I wanted it to go in cPanel, but practically the domain name still redirects to the misspelled domain name.

    Even after deleting the account, the redirect still remains.

    Even after readding the account, the redirect still remains.

    To make it worse, all other accounts I'm now adding seem to be getting DNS errors, they wont propagate/load.

    What I've done since then is "locate domain" and "locate addondomainuser" and rm -r all directories and files with those names in them. Some of the ones it lists it tells me after trying to rm them, that they don't exist, and some of them after I confirm deletion, don't actually delete.

    This is a really awkward situation for me, and I thank those of you that have read this far. Please if you know what I can do to get things back to normal, help me out.

    Thank you for your time.
     
  2. madaboutlinux

    madaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Earth
    Well, reading your post it looks like you have messed up to an extent where it is hard explain either. However, check out the domain entry in the following files and remove them

    remove the following files of the domain
    Once done, execute the following commands:

    Try to add the domain again and see what error you receive.

    Regarding the DNS errors, do you receive any error message while restarting the "named" service. The logs are saved under "/var/log/messages" file. tail the logs while restarting named and see what error you receive

     
  3. cpc

    cpc Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you for response.

    I did everything your post instructed. Most of the places did not have entries of the domain name, but the username directory did exist (still under where it should have been for the addon domain). Additionally, when I looked for the .db files, there weren't any as such, but there were 2 .db.work.213948u745y82u389 files (the digits and letters are a made up representation of what was there)

    I know I'm not very good at explaining these things, so thank you for your understanding. If I am not making myself clear, I want to add the domain now as its own account, instead of as an addon domain.

    Anyway, I tried it.

    When I loaded the domain, I still got the same redirect to the incorrect domain name.

    I got no errors in SSH when restarting named, but I did when I was restarting httpd. Here they are:

    Code:
    [Sun Feb 07 20:44:38 2010] [error] VirtualHost 99.777.888.11:0 -- mixing * ports and non-* ports with a NameVirtualHost address is not supported, proceeding with undefined results
    [Sun Feb 07 20:44:38 2010] [warn] NameVirtualHost 888.999.66.777:80 has no VirtualHosts
    The actual IP values are replaced, but they were 2 different IPs (main server IP in the former, and IP address created for the new account (by the reseller account which uses that IP) is the latter.

    The output of the tail command is the following:

    Code:
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: dns_rdata_fromtext: /var/named/domain.com.db:4: near 'ihljkhfrd9pu7843yh2yotuhgjldfs7g9342yghoyutgwkhsdf.kjfiuher027845ghyujshdfyuikgdshlu37286oy4tigwlrujksdhyfkudsgfa678ya.com.': label too long
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: zone domain.com/IN/internal: loading master file /var/named/domain.com.db: label too long
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: loading configuration from '/etc/named.conf'
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: using default UDP/IPv4 port range: [1024, 65535]
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: using default UDP/IPv6 port range: [1024, 65535]
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: the working directory is not writable
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: dns_rdata_fromtext: /var/named/domain.com.db:4: near 'ihljkhfrd9pu7843yh2yotuhgjldfs7g9342yghoyutgwkhsdf.kjfiuher027845ghyujshdfyuikgdshlu37286oy4tigwlrujksdhyfkudsgfa678ya.com.': label too long
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: zone domain.com/IN/internal: loading master file /var/named/domain.com.db: label too long
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: dns_rdata_fromtext: /var/named/domain.com.db:4: near 'ihljkhfrd9pu7843yh2yotuhgjldfs7g9342yghoyutgwkhsdf.kjfiuher027845ghyujshdfyuikgdshlu37286oy4tigwlrujksdhyfkudsgfa678ya.com.': label too long
    Feb  7 20:46:48 vps named[26202]: zone domain.com/IN/external: loading master file /var/named/domain.com.db: label too long
    Please letme know, if you can, what steps I should take next.

    Thank you for your time and effort.
     
Loading...

Share This Page