The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nick Nick Nick!!! /tmp full ...bad bad bad

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rpmws, Feb 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Well I lost apache for the first time in 10 months due to old g_zip needing a empty hole in /tmp. Turns out someone didn't clean up their mess in there :(

    folders with files like this all over the palce in /tmp
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 159k Feb 11 19:51 Cpanel-4.4.0-STABLE_70-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-19.2mdk-1.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 7.1k Feb 11 19:51 Cpanel-4.4.0-STABLE_70-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-19.2mdk-2.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1.2M Feb 11 19:51 Cpanel-4.4.0-STABLE_70-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-19.2mdk-3.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 48k Feb 11 19:51 Cpanel-4.4.0-STABLE_70-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-19.2mdk-4.tar.gz
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 442k Feb 11 19:51 Cpanel-4.4.0-STABLE_70-Linux-i686-glibc-2.1.3-19.2mdk-5.tar.gz
    -rwx------ 1 root root 1.3k Dec 2 21:15 install*

    Do I need to just keep a eye out?
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Strange............
    One of last things any install of layer1/layer2 does is clean out what it had thrown in /tmp -
    Permissions ok on that directory and within?

    You can clear that completely and not worry about it, of course (the contents).... you can get all of that source back in moments if you need it desperately for a reinstall.

    he'll probably want to see your /tmp permissions/bit structure ...
     
  3. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    ==& cpaneld 4.4 Starting ( processor system).....
    ==& Webmaild 3.5.0 Server Starting.....
    ==& Web Host Manager 4.5.0 Server Starting.....
    ==& Starting SSL tunnel...
    ==& Cluster Manager 3.5.0 Server Starting.....
    ==& Start Melange Chat Services...
    Content-type: text/html

    entropychat 0.2.5 started
    &br&Listening on port 2084...
    ==& Post Install Complete
    ==& Please change the password for the user cpanel
    ==& We recommend you review http://cpanel3.darkorb.net/usage.html

    ==& Cleaning up installer...done.
    Backup Not Enabled
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.




    I tried that link about cpanel user pass and it is dead.
     
  4. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Changing user &cpanel& pass is just making sure you have a strong pass for the cpanel user account that so many things run as or under on your system.... just set it and put it on paper and throw it into a vault somewhere.

    Connection timeout for WHM to bind to 2087/2086 .... usually portsentry hogging those higher ports.

    killall -9 portsentry
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel3 restart

    See if you have better luck?
    If so, restart portsentry (/etc/rc.d/init.d/portsentry restart)

    And/or what exactly is still busted?;)
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Travis,

    You must have only a few hundred servers to manage .You stay in these boards helping out us dumb guys all the time man .I really like that man ..thanks you :)


    Here is what I get when I restart cpanel.
    Stopping Cpanel4 services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Cpanel4 log services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Cpanel4 Chat services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Melange Chat services: [FAILED]
    Stopping InterChange services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Cpanel3 ssl services: [FAILED]
    Stopping Web Host Manger services: [ OK ]
    Stopping Cluster Management services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cpanel4 services: [ OK ]
    Starting WebMail services: [ OK ]
    Starting pop3 services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cpanel4 Chat services: [ OK ]
    Starting Melange Chat services:
    Starting Cpanel4 ssl services: [ OK ]
    Starting Web Host Manager services: [ OK ]
    Starting Cluster Management services: [ OK ]

    I have InterChange off as well as chat ..but what's the deal with the SSL? all my normall certs fire off fine .. could this be the issue?
     
  6. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    dude, don't worry about it, I try to contribute when I have time because I know I apprciate it when others help me/contribute to threads that interest me as well.

    Is stunnel shot to hell?
    usr/local/cpanel/startstunnel

    ? Usually if it couldn't halt CPanel SSL, it means that is hosed.

    If your other certs are fine it can't be related to the actual ssl rpms/source

    ...................................... ?
     
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    The portcentry thing seemed to do teh trick. I get more output now ..

    Cpanel Layer 2 Auto-Update Commencing
    ==& Installing....../
    ==& Running post install scripts....rsync conf init perm ucdomains cp2compat mailman installmod sqllimit apache movetmp neomail noshell update newemail webalizer proftpd interchange gbookfix security iptables oldiconic old mysqlsecurity rpmods stunnelkey spamassassin wheelsu
    ==& Cpanel 3 Install Complete
    ==& Starting Cpanel 3....
    receiving file list ... done
    wrote 71 bytes read 3007 bytes 2052.00 bytes/sec
    total size is 1682101 speedup is 546.49
    ==& Checking Permissions on /dev/null...Done
    ==& Loading Config ....product myname adminuser basename version root engineroot engine enginepl cycle docroot access_log stats_log port RS VALIASDIR VFILTERDIR
    ==& Loading Config ....product myname adminuser basename version root engineroot engine enginepl cycle docroot access_log stats_log port RS VALIASDIR VFILTERDIR
    ==& cpaneld(logger) 4.4 Starting ( processor system).....


    ==& cpaneld 4.4 Starting ( processor system).....
    ==& Webmaild 3.5.0 Server Starting.....
    ==& Web Host Manager 4.5.0 Server Starting.....
    ==& Starting SSL tunnel...
    ==& Cluster Manager 3.5.0 Server Starting.....
    ==& Start Melange Chat Services...
    Content-type: text/html

    entropychat 0.2.5 started
    &br&Listening on port 2084...
    ==& Post Install Complete
    ==& Please change the password for the user cpanel
    ==& We recommend you review http://cpanel3.darkorb.net/usage.html


    Broadcast message from root Tue Feb 12 12:33:33 2002...

    Cpanel Layer 2 Install Complete
    ==& Cleaning up installer...done.
    Backup Not Enabled


    It seems to update more stuff now .. all this is new.
     
  8. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    I take that back ..my email says this.
    entropychat 0.2.5 started
    &br&Listening on port 2084...
    ==& Post Install Complete
    ==& Please change the password for the user cpanel
    ==& We recommend you review http://cpanel3.darkorb.net/usage.html

    ==& Cleaning up installer...done.
    Backup Not Enabled
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Shutting down

    at the end
     
  9. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    But the /tmp clean seemd to work.. I only had some old ones in there from 2 days ago. .. the timeout //huh???? stunnel huh? would SSL on cpanel work if that was the case?
     
  10. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I mean can you go into the machine as root and try that &startstunnel& program in the path mentioned above?

    U are doing this all from WHmanager, eh?
    Lovely party, pity I wasn't invited.
    :p
     
  11. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    Well now it seems that SSL on WHM and Cpanel is not working at all. I get a box that shows me the funny cert but all i get after 15 seconds is 'access denied& this explains what a few clienst mean by &can't acces cpanel& last few days. I was not aware they were doing ssl. I wans't when testing. how to fix ...humm??
     
  12. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    [quote:2fcbc48d9e][i:2fcbc48d9e]Originally posted by feanor[/i:2fcbc48d9e]


    I mean can you go into the machine as root and try that &startstunnel& program in the path mentioned above?

    U are doing this all from WHmanager, eh?
    Lovely party, pity I wasn't invited.
    :p [/quote:2fcbc48d9e]

    Doing it from both man. I know now that SSL for WHM is not working. It's weird ..when I try to connect with the browser using SSL on WHM my SSH bash prints out Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.
    Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.


    while I am just sitting there. ???? weird
     
  13. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is the port 2087 process listening in memory if you do a process list as root from the shell?

    Did you try the stunnel thing yet?
     
  14. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    /usr/local/cpanel]# ./startstunnel
    ==& Starting SSL tunnel...

    seems to work ..

    OK here is what I find.

    https://domain.com:2087 gives me a SSL cert info, and a password box. I enter the login and it times out and at the same time my shell prompt prints:
    &Connection Timeout at whostmgr/bin/whostmgrd.pl line 303.&


    If I try https link in &SSL Mode& after loading WHM in non-ssl mode I get through fine .. (little slow) but it works ok.

    Now what dude?
     
  15. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ? If you can get there via one route but not another I am not sure if there is anything I can say to help you out.

    i.e. if 2087 works when you go to &ssl mode&, but it doesn't when you go directly?

    restart your workstation?

    :p
    and/or wait for further guidance from the SUPER GENIUSES.
     
  16. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    [quote:5532b88e46][i:5532b88e46]Originally posted by feanor[/i:5532b88e46]


    ? If you can get there via one route but not another I am not sure if there is anything I can say to help you out.

    i.e. if 2087 works when you go to &ssl mode&, but it doesn't when you go directly?

    restart your workstation?

    :p
    and/or wait for further guidance from the SUPER GENIUSES.[/quote:5532b88e46]

    Nope .. cpanel doesn't work but WHM does.

    You are a SUPER GENIUSES as far as I am concerned.
     
  17. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    OK so the problem just reversed itself and cpanel is hosed while WHM is serving up connections?

    I am retiring to take a quest to the south pole.
    See you there.
     
  18. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    No I just confused you.

    cpanel ssl calls give me a SSL info box and a login but no page with a proper password. I get Access denied and at the same exact time I get the timeout on my shell prompt reporting it.

    But when I try WHM called using SSL it works fine ..just slow.

    Thanks for your help man :) I give up as well.
     
  19. AmityHosting

    AmityHosting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i fixed this by

    # rm -Rf /tmp

    # mkdir /tmp

    # chmod 777 /tmp

    works fine now, i did not have it chowned and it was giving lots of errors regarding mysql, once i did the 777 it was fine...

    ta snow :)
     
  20. snowgod

    snowgod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    First of all, you could easily remove all the files in your TEMP directory.

    rm -rf /tmp/*

    secondly, if you do for some reason remove your /tmp directory, the proper way to regenerate it is:

    as root:
    mkdir /tmp
    chmod 1777 /tmp

    When you are finished the dir should look like this (in ls -ld)
    drwxrwxrwt 2 root root 144384 Feb 12 17:23 /tmp/

    (NOTE the t at the end).
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page