Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

No cPanel backup via FTPS?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by kpmedia, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. kpmedia

    kpmedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    USA, Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Why does cPanel only support FTP, and not the more secure FTPES (FTPS) for the backup?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    You can use SFTP for backup purposes if you prefer a more secure protocol. Or, you are welcome to open a feature request for FTPS support:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kpmedia

    kpmedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    USA, Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've never gotten SFTP to work.
    It just refuses to connect, even when everything else (PuTTy, Filezilla, etc) will.

    SFTP is slower than FTPS anyway.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,802
    Likes Received:
    1,895
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you tried to use SFTP to connect to the remote server from your server's command line? If so, ensure you remember to use the same settings that you would use for SSH (Port, Key if required). That being said, a feature request is the best route to take if you want to see additional functionality added to the backup system.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. kpmedia

    kpmedia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    USA, Europe
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No. I've never needed to connect to servers like this. How would I do it? I looked for help on Google, but saw nothing useful.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    143
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. serichards

    serichards Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Are you using the key authentication or password authentication? Try the other if one isn't working.

    I always use the validate option to make sure it is ok. Check the server name as some of the ftp providers change the server name used for sftp usually just sftp.whoever.com instead of ftp.whoever.com
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice