Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

No DMA!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sv1, Sep 28, 2007.

  1. sv1

    sv1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I noticed on our new machine that DMA was not enabled and when I tried to enable it via WHM it says that it has gone through the process yet it has not been enabled. When I run the script to enable it via shell I get:

    Code:
    
    [root@server scripts]# ./hdparamify
    /dev/hda:
     setting 32-bit IO_support flag to 1
     HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
     IO_support   =  1 (32-bit)
    /dev/hdc:
     setting 32-bit IO_support flag to 1
     HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
     IO_support   =  1 (32-bit)
    
    
    and here is more info:

    Code:
    
    [root@server] hdparm -d1 /dev/hda
    
    /dev/hda:
     setting using_dma to 1 (on)
     HDIO_SET_DMA failed: Operation not permitted
     using_dma    =  0 (off)
    
    Anyone know what's going on here? Thanks.
     
  2. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New York
    Do you know if this drive can support DMA, what does the output from "dmesg" show ?. I am not familiar with setting DMA on in WHM, but I do know that some drives that can support DMA will not if your O/S cannot talk to the driver at a level to support it. Doesnt matter if its a new motherboard, some south bridge chip sets are just not supported and will fall back to PIO mode.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. tanfwc

    tanfwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Well, what is your interface of your harddisk? IDE or SATA?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. sv1

    sv1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    dmesg =

    Code:
    http://www.pwrhost.com/pwrdma.txt
    
    sata
     
  5. tanfwc

    tanfwc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    As far as I know, DMA is not supported in SATA interface.

    correct me if i am wrong.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. philb

    philb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I'm pretty sure tanfwc is correct; it's not necessary to set dma.

    hdparm -tT /dev/hda

    This will do a quick (safe) throughput test and should give you 45-65MB/sec or so for buffered disk reads (ignore cached reads figure in this instance) - the exact speed will vary depending on various factors (speed of disk, how well the chipset driver works, how busy the box is at the moment you run the test, etc etc etc).
     
  7. sv1

    sv1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Great, thanks!
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice