The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No external emails getting through ?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by oldlock, Oct 4, 2008.

1. oldlock

oldlock Well-Known Member

I'm a total newbie on this so please bear with me. Below is the text of a post I have made on the hosts forum :

--

It seems that no emails are getting through outside the server, I have enabled SPF and requested a rDNS (although I'm not sure I requested the right thing). I have 3 ip's two of which are linked to my nameservers. The third is a shared IP for the domains. I requested that they all rDNS to my hostname elvo.vpslink.com - is that correct ?

If the rDNS is right is there anything else that could be causing the problem. Looking at the mail queue it seems that all messages are getting ' Connection Refused '

--

If I have requested the right thing on the rDNS does anyone have any suggestions as to just what could be causing the total failure of all external email - note all email being sent from my server is being generated by php applications such as phpbb etc.

2. oldlock

Help ! It does appear that the rDNS should be set to the hostname, so I registered another TLD (pplckhost.com) and set it to my nameservers (not sure thats right) and added it as a new hostname. I had my host perform a rDNS on the new name but still no joy, I get the distinct idea that I'm going in circles here, any suggestions would be appreciated !

3. jayh38

jayh38 Well-Known Member

Your mx server host name appears to be kaboodled in your dns record. Also you are blocking tcp connections most likely by your firewall.

4. oldlock

Thanks for the reply. Odd the MX records appear OK with a online test this end. Maybe the change has'nt quite propagated fully yet ? (if so could that be the problem ??)

Any suggestions for a fix on the firewall ?