The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No MySQL Connections after account transfer

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by NDanecker, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. NDanecker

    NDanecker Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Point Pleasant, NJ USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I moved 2 test accounts from old server to new and having trouble with MySQL. It appears MySQL is working correctly when using phpmyadmin (I can see tables and data). However, the two sites I transferred had Joomla & vBulletin and both are unable to connect to the database. Apache seems to be working along with PHP as non-database driven pages are processed on the server side and pushed to browser. Just unable to get them to see/connect to database. I received no errors during the account transfer. Tried deleting & recreating each MySQL users and still no worky.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Might be a long way around the block but do you have Site Software enabled on the account? If yes install something and see if it works. If yes, check the config file for whatever you installed and see how the database details are filled in there. Are these similar to your existing vBulletin config.php settings? user_user password database_database
     
  3. NDanecker

    NDanecker Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Point Pleasant, NJ USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Great suggestion.

    I created a test folder and installed a new instance of both vBulletin and Joomla and guess what....they both work fine. This confirms MySQL is working properly, its not a port being blocked issue, and the config files for each have the correct settings for MySQL.

    Could the database not have transferred correctly even though the data seems completely in tack via phpmyadmin?

    Puzzled here......
     
  4. NDanecker

    NDanecker Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Point Pleasant, NJ USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Problem solved!

    I set the database type from 'mysql' to 'mysqli' and it now works. Can't believe I missed that.

    Thanks!
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You're certainly welcome. Good to hear you got it sorted.
     
Loading...

Share This Page