The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No one can use MySQL

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by Schnuupi, Apr 13, 2015.

  1. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    On our cPanel server, we updated stuff recently, all went well no errors, but for some reason everyones sites cannot connect to the mysql database, theres no errors when restarting the SQL service. Everything seems to be working but clearly something isn't. I've checked everwhere.
     
  2. acenetgeorge

    acenetgeorge Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southfield, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    When you say you updated "stuff" recently, what exactly did you update? More details would be helpful.

    If you updated MySQL to 5.6, there may be a problem with the old pre-4.1 password hashing in MySQL. Try resetting the mysql password and see if that helps. Resetting the password will use the newer password hashing.

    If it does not, check the MySQL error log and the apache error logs, and see if there are any error messages.
     
    madmanmachines likes this.
  3. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Basically just cPanel, with the update feature for checking for new packages etc, other than that the only thing ive done recently is enable a couple of extentions in easyApache. That's about it. I did update MySQL to 5.6 to try and fix this issue, but it didn't help, although it did fix a problem with 5.5 where it wouldn't restart it or anything. It did fix it, now it restarts successfully and everything. But clients cannot connect their databases from their websites with localhost, 127.0.0.1 or anything.
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Are you using CloudLinux on your server ?

    I think mysql php modules is not installed correctly and may be due to that you are getting this issues, Try to connect your mysql user through command line and check this. If you are able to login it through command line then defiantly there is an issues with the php mysql.
     
  5. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes I can connect via commandline and no its not cloudlinux it's just CentOS 6.
     
  6. madmanmachines

    madmanmachines Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should follow @acenetgeorge advice about updating passwords. You can update the password to the same password. You should also check the privileges of the users against the databases.
     
  7. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How do I update the passwords though?
     
  8. madmanmachines

    madmanmachines Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    From:
    1) MySQL command line over SSH
    2) From phpMyAdmin in WHM
    3) From WHM > Change MySQL User Password
    4) From cPanel > MySQL Databases
    5) From cPanel > phpMyAdmin

    Is this a serious question? You should try googling a bit more.
     
  9. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That didn't really, tell me how to.. Just where to.
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Assuming you have access to WHM:
    Home »SQL Services »Change MySQL User Password
     
  11. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thats not what I can do, I was told I can update them to the current passwords, obviously I do not know them we have a lot of clients. I cannot reset all their passwords.
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You should not need to reset any users passwords.
     
  13. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It asks for new passwords if I go in there, theres no other options.
     
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Please feel free to open a ticket to cPanel Technical Support about this. They'll get you sorted.
     
  15. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We got our cPanel license through a reseller, do we have to use them for support? I know you guys are probably more helpful and faster.
     
  16. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you have root access to the server you should be able to contact cPanel. Open a ticket and find out for sure one way or the other. ;)
     
  17. Schnuupi

    Schnuupi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Okay we have a different problem now, no one can change their passwords.

    DBD::mysql::db do failed: Can't find any matching row in the user table

    that's the error they recieve.
     
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did you open that ticket yet? If yes, could you please post the ticket ID here?

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page