The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No option to create account backup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fetish-hosting, Feb 9, 2010.

  1. fetish-hosting

    fetish-hosting Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi

    A client who wants to transfer his hosting account from one cPanel based server to mine has given me their cPanel login details in order to do a backup and restore onto my server. However, the theme used on the current server has a very restricted list of commands and backup isnt one of them.

    I have the cPanel login and password and can login OK on the current - is there a way of doing this please ?

    Thanks
    Ian
     
  2. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Depending how restricted the access is the only option may be to attempt the transfer via WHM using the account login or to request a full cPanel account backup from the existing hosting service provider.
     
  3. fetish-hosting

    fetish-hosting Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Transfer using the account login

    Thanks for the quick reply - It is using a theme called cpanel if that is any help and have no FTP or SSH but have a simple File manager option. I have tried doing a transfer via WHM using the account login and get the following :

    Trying to fetch cpmove file via cPanel XML-API!
    Fetching current backups from remote server......0 backups found...Done
    Starting the backup...Done
    Waiting for backup to start...Done
    Checking remote server for backups.....0 backups found.
    Failed to start the backup on the remote machine (if a previous backup is in progress you will need to wait until it is complete)!
    (Trace information follows for backup start request)...

    /xml-api/cpanel?xmlin=<cpanelaction><apiversion>1</apiversion><module>Fileman</module><func>fullbackup</func></cpanelaction>

    (Trace information follows for initial backups)...
    (Trace information follows for backups after request started)...

    Failed to fetch cpmove file via cPanel XML-API.
    Trying to fetch cpmove file via ftp+cgi!
    Attempting to login as surtees to XX.XX.XXX.XXX via ftp
    (internal error) Wed Feb 10 00:59:25 2010 [27708] error: Can't call method "login" on an undefined value at /scripts/getremotecpmove line 299.
    at /scripts/getremotecpmove line 299
    main::fetch_acct_by_ftp_and_http('user', 'account_name', 'host', XX.XX.XXX.XXX, 'domain', 'domain_name', 'pass', '__HIDDEN__', 'part', ...) called at /scripts/getremotecpmove line 66

    I have replaced the IP addresses, account and domain names but can provide these via a PM if that would help

    Any way of getting this without having to go to the current host as they will not be helpful !

    Thanks
    Ian
     
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Are you able to access a URI like the following on the remote server; this may or may not work depending how the restriction was implemented:
    Code:
    /frontend/x3/backup/fullbackup.html
    If the theme is not X3, try the above URI but with the exact theme name seen.

    What is the full cPanel version of the remote server? This can be checked in the page HTML source code viewed by a browser; it will be in an HTML comment at the very bottom of the page source. The following post will help to detail where to find the version and build information, as seen after logging-into cPanel: cPanel Forums - View Single Post - cPanelDon
     
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    If it is not possible to generate a backup via cPanel on the remote server the only option available may to be escalate the request to the hosting service provider for formal assistance.
     
  6. fetish-hosting

    fetish-hosting Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    The cPanel version on the remote server is : 11.25.0-RELEASE Build 43286

    Sorry - dont understand what you mean about accessing /frontend/x3/backup/fullbackup.html although I can tell you that the login_theme=cpanel

    Thanks
    Ian
     
  7. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    To help clarify, the login theme can be of a different name than the actual cPanel theme used after being logged-in. For example, the login theme defaults to "cpanel" but the cPanel theme may be X3 ("x3") as seen in the example URI.

    The URI indicated is referring to accessing a URL similar to the following examples:
    Code:
    http://server:2082/frontend/x3/backup/fullbackup.html
    https://server:2083/frontend/x3/backup/fullbackup.html
     
Loading...

Share This Page