The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Quota option in FTP accounts

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eyecool, May 6, 2005.

  1. eyecool

    eyecool Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I have WHM 10.1.0 cPanel 10.2.0-R52, and when I create FTP accounts in cPanel, there;s no option to set a "quota" like there is for email accounts?

    I'm pulling out my hair because there has to be a way to limit the space an FTP user can use, right?

    I create the same user with an email acct and quota, but that quota seems to have nothing to do with the ftp quota.

    Could someone please tell me how to set disk quotas for ftp users?

    Thanks!
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    The option isn't available with cPanel for FTP accounts. I believe that there are enhancement requests in bugzilla for them to be added.
     
  3. eyecool

    eyecool Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks!

    Quotas will really help! Searching I found a lot of ppl with the same problems: no quotas or the quotas in their cPanel didn't work.
     
  4. Damian

    Damian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Quotas are available on FTP accounts. I'm using them now. In fact there is even a percentage graph on the FTP page within cPanel that shows the percentage of quota used for each virtual FTP login.

    Quota support is only available if you use pure-ftpd.

    This is directly from the Tweak FTP settings page:

    Pure-ftpd
    Advantages
    * Faster Login Time
    * Smaller Memory Footprint
    * Allows Virtual Access on any ip address
    * Better Security Model
    * Virtual User Quotas
    * Deals better with Software Raid systems

    Proftpd

    Disadvantages
    * Larger Memory Footprint

    If you're using pure-ftp and not seeing the quota option then the skin you're using may not support them or be out of date. We use a customised skin and including it was as simple as providing an image for the quota link.
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    There you go then. I hadn't notice those coming in as I only use proftpd (which can also support quotas though cPanel hasn't added support for them) ;)
     
  6. eyecool

    eyecool Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    I'm using Proftp... is it easy to switch to Pure-ftpd? =)

    BTW, although my cpanel came with proftpd, none of my default skins, x,x2 or monsoon show ftp quotas...
     
  7. eyecool

    eyecool Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yeah there's an easy way!

    In WHM, go to "Service Configuration" ---> "FTP Configuration"

    From there you can install/switch to pureftpd and back.

    Now.. if I could only get openwebmail to work w/ cpanel =/
     
Loading...

Share This Page