The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Sites showing....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by n_kruse, Jul 13, 2003.

  1. n_kruse

    n_kruse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SE US
    When accessing the following site, www.deluxdecals.com it says the site cannot be found. However, Apache is running, Email works, FTP side is functioning but not the site. All the other sites on the server all do the same thing. When I ping the sites they resolve back to the server IP as does the server. I started having all these issues after running the unsecure apache update today in WHM. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is there anything in the apache error log, it would appear that your system is accepting the connection but then dropping it after the inital GET request

    tforum@nebula:~$ lynx http://www.deluxdecals.com

    Looking up www.deluxdecals.com
    www.deluxdecals.com
    Making HTTP connection to www.deluxdecals.com
    Sending HTTP request.
    HTTP request sent; waiting for response.
    Alert!: Unexpected network read error; connection aborted.
    Can't Access `http://www.deluxdecals.com/'
    Alert!: Unable to access document.

    lynx: Can't access startfile
    tforum@nebula:~$

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. n_kruse

    n_kruse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SE US
    It is funny, because I have a 3rd party script that would not update because the gethostbyname() perl module is not functioning properly. With all the cpanel layer1 and 2 down I have no idea how to update this function. Is there another way to update this, I can't even get easyapache to run.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hmm i am aware layer1/2 were down a while ago but from here they appear up here now? are they still down with you?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. n_kruse

    n_kruse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SE US
    They are still down. Is there something I need to do differently to connect to them?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. n_kruse

    n_kruse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SE US
    Just ran this and here is the result

    Doing a manual update...
    Cannot connect to update source layer1.cpanel.net: Invalid argument
    Cpanel updates are coming from layer2.cpanel.net
    Unable to retrieve file

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. hostcp3

    hostcp3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try rebooting named /bind

    and then try /scripts/easyapache

    again.
     
  8. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok try restarting named (via whm or /etc/init.d/named restart from shell prompt) in case there is a lookup error, then try it again

    if that still does not work then try adding this to /etc/hosts using your preferred text editor

    66.197.217.12 layer1.cpanel.net
    66.197.217.12 layer2.cpanel.net

    then try again after saving the changes, if it still doesn't work, then i would suspect a problem somewhere along path between you and cpanel, so you might want to ask your dc/host/whatever

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. n_kruse

    n_kruse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    SE US
    Both of mine were dark orb, but what was missing was the nameserver entry in the following file /etc/resolv.conf. I changed that and then everything worked fine. I could not even ping froogle.google.com. Thanks for your answers.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page