The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

nobody apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by equens, Mar 9, 2010.

  1. equens

    equens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I frequently have a lot of these process running by nobody

    3873 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    4114 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    4454 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    4463 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5344 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5362 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5372 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5373 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5376 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5684 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5690 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5705 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5735 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5742 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5761 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5763 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL
    5806 nobody 0 0.0 0.5 /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -k start -DSSL

    Do you thinks it is normal?
     
  2. garrettp

    garrettp Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This is the default behavior of Apache. Nothing to worry about!
     
  3. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    What garrettp has described is absolutely correct; it is normal for Apache/httpd processes to run as the username and group of "nobody." The resulting display in the process list does not indicate anything out-of-the-ordinary and, further clarifying, it is normal behavior in the stock-default Apache configuration that is installed by cPanel/WHM and the EasyApache3 build system.

    Please note that while Apache/httpd may run as user nobody, when using SuPHP as the Apache PHP request handler you may see PHP scripts run as the user in each web site's Apache virtual host configuration (e.g., the username of the cPanel account involved that is hosting the PHP script); in this respect, using SuExec has the same effect for CGI and Perl scripts served via Apache/httpd. For reference, in the latest EasyApache builds both SuPHP and SuExec are enabled by default (for improved security).
     
  4. equens

    equens Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot for your replies.

    In fact I'm worried because we are using SuPHP as the Apache PHP request handler but I never see processes running under username of the cPanel account.

    PHP and SuExec Configuration
    Default PHP Version (.php files) 5
    PHP 5 Handler suphp
    Apache suEXEC on

    Should I see these processes executed by users instead of nobody?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Apache/httpd processes will always run as user "nobody" -- this is normal. Only a PHP script or CGI/Perl script would execute as the user when initiated via Apache/httpd with SuPHP and SuExec; scripts like these would not usually be long-running processes and should exit upon completion, thus they may not always be apparent when checking status at a given moment in time.
     
  6. samuelmf

    samuelmf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Perú
    I have the same problem

    I have the same problem but, every process use 6.5% of the cpu, there any way to decrease the ammount of use of that processes?

    Thanks!
     
  7. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    As previously discussed the original behavior reported is normal. If looking to optimize the server configuration I recommend searching the following forums area: cPanel and WHM Optimization - cPanel Forums
     
  8. samuelmf

    samuelmf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Perú
    What values (configurations) i need to optimize to reduce the memory and cpu comsumption of that processes?

    Thanks!
     
  9. luigidelgado

    luigidelgado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi.

    Im having hundreds of processes like this after fcgi with APC was implemented:

    Code:
    154070 (Trace) (Kill)	user	0	0.0	  0.6	/usr/bin/php
    154079 (Trace) (Kill)	user	0	0.0	  0.6	/usr/bin/php
    154090 (Trace) (Kill)	user	0	0.0	  0.6	/usr/bin/php
    The problem is last night I moved a domain and swap memory went to 97%...
    inf fact in this very moment my server is not responding...
     
  10. luigidelgado

    luigidelgado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    After restarting everything went fine... I think CXS was the problem as it began scanning but never ended...
    After restart my server came up with a whooping +100 req/sec
    [​IMG]
     
  11. luigidelgado

    luigidelgado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mexico
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Still having issues after all...

    I have Cloud Linux Iand I think there has to be a problem with that... looking for advice...
     
Loading...

Share This Page