Operating System & Version
Cent OS 7

g_silverfox

Registered
Jun 10, 2020
Techvill!
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hoping somebody can help with this. To start off with I will say I am by no means a beginner but this one has got me stumped. So here goes...

I got a VPS package through Namecheap which was the highest one available with Cent OS 7 (now 7.8), WHM + CPanel all installed and ready to go. There is a 5 account limit for the license I currently hold so naturally I have had to use one of the accounts to host a couple of domains outside of that account limit as these can be easily added via the Domains >> Addon Domain feature of CPanel. So there is the context to start off with.

I found through looking at various support articles that in more recent times Node.js applications can be used on domains through the use of either a Plugin which requires CloudLinux. Unfortunately I don't have that, I have Cent OS 7.8 but then I learned of another way using the feature manager in WHM to add something called Application Manager to CPanel in the Software section. So I thought great I can start registering my node.js applications on the domains as necessary. I made sure all the necessary modules were installed as it states in the articles on installation and sure enough managed to get a node.js app running fine on one of the domains, however this particular domain was held as is using one of the 5 accounts. The problem comes next...

I go to the account that holds 2 add-on domains through CPanel and try to register a node.js application installing all dependencies etc as I did before with the first node.js app, however the issue I'm facing is when visiting the application URL I simply get the entire root of the URL listing any folders and/or files within it and not what the app is supposed to output. The app is functioning correctly and is made up of the following:-

app.js - start file for the app
package.json
package-lock.json