The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

noob: Adding Domains Question...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by plathw, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. plathw

    plathw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having problems adding domains to my account. I create a new account in WHM and it works when I go to www.mysite.com, but the only way I can upload files is to upload them as my main account to mysite.hostsite.com. If I log in as the "mysite" user and upload files there, they don't show up on www.mysite.com.

    Does that make any sence to anyone???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    When you log in, do you upload the files right there, or in the public_html directory?
     
  3. plathw

    plathw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I log in as the user and upload files, they do not show up on www.mysite.com. If I log in as host, I can upload files to hostsite/public_html/mysite/ and the files show up.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    When you ftp as user, what directories do you see?
     
  5. plathw

    plathw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    mail/
    public_ftp/
    public_html/

    I upload to /public_html/ and it does not show up. And this public_html/ is separate from my webhost/public_html/mysite/

    I thought this could be a dns problem, pointing to mysite.hostsite.com instead of www.mysite.com, but I think it's all set up properly. The DNS servers for host and mysite are the same. Could that be the problem?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    It sounds like something was set up incorrectly. Does your hosting provider offer technical support? It sounds like someone may need to look at the files.

    In the httpd.conf file the DocumentRoot line for that sites entry should be something like:
    DocumentRoot /home/username/public_html
     
  7. plathw

    plathw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Alright, figured it out...

    I had mysite set up as a subdomain of hostsite.com. When I set mysite.com up as its own account, the files were never seen because the mysite.hostsite.com took priority.

    Thanks for the help

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page