The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob DNS question

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mehnihma, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    I have bought VPS, and Cpanel/WHM is installed on it now.

    In installation they have added 4 name servers, and I have bought 2 name servers from them.

    I am now switch from shared hosting to VPS and my registar told me that I need to give him new name servers fro domain.

    Now my question is, when I copied user from my shared hosting it copied DNS settings also.
    Do I need to add new name-servers in DNS and remove that they have added in installation and give to domain registrar name servers? What happens to email settings and so on? Because I use Exchange online for e mail.

    I am new at this and little bit confused in what I have to do.

    Thanks
     
  2. Fiberoptck

    Fiberoptck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Mehnihma,

    If I am understanding this correctly. you now have a VPS but you were before on a shared hosting. This would mean that the hosting providers DNS settings wouldn't be valid for you to use. If you have 2 name servers (which is looks like you do) you would want to use them in a cluster so that the NS's point to your webserver. Since this those Nameservers are what will be routing requests for the webserver as well as pointing traffic to your domain, you will want to give the name of the 2 name servers you have in possession that you bought. Make sure you have these nameservers set up on WHM.
     
  3. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks, That I wanted to know
     
  4. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Tell me one more thing

    If I have nameservers registered at domain registar
    when creating new account in Cpanel do I choose:
    Use the nameservers specified at the Domain's Registrar and Overwrite any existing DNS zones for the account OR just Use the nameservers specified at the Domain's Registrar?

    And what does "Overwrite any existing DNS zones for the account" means? I do not quite get it.

    Thanks
     
  5. Fiberoptck

    Fiberoptck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When setting up a domain, It would be better to use the nameservers specified at the domains registrar. Reason I say this is because on the registrar side, you will have the domains DNS pointers set to your nameservers. example would be if you purchased a domain at 1and1.com and you wanted that domain to point to your webserver, you would want to set that domains DNS zones to goto your Nameserver1 and Nameserver2 DNS zones for your webserver so that when the domain is requested it will look for where that domain is suppose to direct to.

    Overwriting any existing DNS zones for the account will only check for any conflicting DNS zones that may already be exsisting and overwrite the DNS zones with the more recent information. It will not shut down the services for that DNS but just clean up anything that could become conflicting.

    Here is a good document from cPanel that can help explain more in regards to DNS: DNS Settings
     
  6. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think you are mistaken.
    In here:
    DNS Settings
    it says:
    In fact that is not correct, it should say:
    From the OP's post I understand that he's running name servers in his VPS, so he should not select this option.
     
  7. AncotiDotCom

    AncotiDotCom Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm new here, thank for your support Fiberoptck
     
Loading...

Share This Page