The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

noob questions about hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by b16b18, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. b16b18

    b16b18 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I setup my hostname as juno.novo-now.com. Do I need to have novo-now.com setup as an account(website) also?
     
    #1 b16b18, Feb 16, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2012
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's not required to create an account that matches the primary domain name of your hostname. However, you should ensure the "A" record for the hostname itself resolves to the server's primary IP address.

    Thank you.
     
  3. b16b18

    b16b18 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    thanks

    the hostname juno.novo-now.com is using my primary IP

    if i wanted to create a website for novo-now.com and use it for mail should i assign it's own dedicated IP or should it be using the server's primary IP also?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page