The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob user question - please don't laugh too hard...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alembyc, Feb 11, 2007.

1. alembyc

alembyc Registered

Ok - I'm an artist and graphic person with limited techie skills, trying to set up my first domain.

I've designed (on Dreamweaver) and uploaded (to Yahoo Geocities) at least twenty 'free' websites, for myself and others - all basic stuff with text and images, not much more. I know enough HTML to edit the code in minimal ways (colour, resizing, etc.) I also know that the names of the images and how they are referred to in the HTML 'page' have to match up - right down to the case they are in (can't tell you how many times I've had to change .JPG to .jpg...) and I've never had any trouble with the basic Yahoo File Manager.

Now: I have put a simple placeholder page called, creatively enough, 'index' for my new site, www (dot) alembyc (dot) com. It has a grand total of THREE images - a background, a banner, and a enter sign. All three images were downloaded as well and are sitting right there in the list below the index page itself. However, when I try to view the index page in CPanel, none of my images show up. I checked to make sure the names were the same. Is it possible that the paths to the images aren't fully written out, or is there something equally obvious to you more skilled technicians which you could explain patiently without chortling toooooo loudly? :eek:

Thanks muchly!

2. cpanelinfoseeker

cpanelinfoseeker Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did a quick look in your directory. There is nothing there except the cgi-bin. Did you upload the files to the 'public_html' directory? They need to be there to be seen.

Hope this helps,
    Ron

3. brendanrtg

brendanrtg Well-Known Member