The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not sure if bug or option change - claimed non-existent domain that does exist

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jgillmanjr, Apr 9, 2014.

  1. jgillmanjr

    jgillmanjr Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello!

    I created a cPanel account for domain.org on my VPS (user is miopenca).

    I then created a zone for domaintoo.org and set miopenca as the owner of that zone.

    However, when I proceeded to try and create a subdomain for domaintoo.org (and it was available in the drop down), an error was thrown stating that the domain didn't exist (yes, I'm a bad person for not getting a screenshot).

    Fortunately the fix was relatively simple - I backed up the zone file, removed the zone, and then added that domain by creating it as a parked domain under the miopenca account (and then copied the zone file back and reloaded). After I did that, I was able to successfully create the subdomain.

    Not sure if this is a bug, an intentional design on cPanel's end, or a settings tweak that I overlooked. Just seems kind of odd that the domain would be available in the list for subdomain creation, yet fail under an error that it doesn't exist.

    Thanks!

    -Jason
     
    #1 jgillmanjr, Apr 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 10, 2014
  2. SS-Maddy

    SS-Maddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Jason, why did you create the zone beforehand ? Process of creating a sub domain would have created the zone all by itself. And also if the domain is not registered you may also get a similar error unless you have tweaked the WHM settings to allow the creation of non existent / unregistered domains.
     
  3. jgillmanjr

    jgillmanjr Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    SS-Maddy,

    Created the zone file beforehand because I wanted to get the domains off their previous nameservers. Both domains have been around a for a while, so the issue of a non-existent / unregistered domain wasn't an issue (though I did see that option in tweak settings). Currently, the production sites are still located elsewhere.
     
  4. SS-Maddy

    SS-Maddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    BTW I believe it is more of a security check than a bug. Because though nit in your case, if some other account have added that domain, cPanel have a way to know that it is already under some other account and hence the rest of account creation processes shouldn't be allowed
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's typically advised to either create the subdomain on it's own, or add the parked/addon domain first and then create the subdomain. If you create the DNS zone on it's own, it's going to prevent the addition of the domain name because the zone already exists when cPanel attempts to create it. That being said, I do see your point that it should not be listed in the drop-down box if it's not available for use. You can open a bug report for that via:

    Submit A Bug Report

    Post the ticket number here and we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  6. jgillmanjr

    jgillmanjr Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Michael,

    Thanks for the indication of what the expected behavior should be.

    The ticket is 4801533

    Thanks again!

    -Jason
     
  7. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    [Case # 97389] - Re: Not sure if bug or option change - claimed non-existent domain that does exist

    Hello,

    Just an update, case # 97389 has been filed for this issue.

    Thank you for reporting this so our development team can fix it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page