The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not technically cpanel related...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 4u123, Apr 10, 2006.

  1. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Some time ago I had a server secured by a third party company who disabled some of the cpanel cgi scripts even though I had asked them not to. The permissions on those files show as 0000 and I am unable to change them.

    What can I do ?
     
  2. nickn

    nickn Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Sounds like they are chattr +i'd.

    Do chattr -i /home/username/path/to/file.cgi

    That should let you chang permissions again. :)
     
  3. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi, thanks for your reply, I tried that...

    [~]# chattr -i /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/formmail.pl
    [~]# chmod 755 /usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/formmail.pl
    chmod: changing permissions of `/usr/local/cpanel/cgi-sys/formmail.pl': Operation not permitted
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Are you doing that as root?
     
  5. Etheral

    Etheral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    sometimes with chattr, i find i have to run the command a few times. Just my 2 cents.
     
  6. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi,

    Yes I'm running this as root and I still cant change permissions after running it several times.

    Any ideas ?
     
  7. 4u123

    4u123 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Last resort - I've renamed the cgi-sys folder and run a upcp --force to reinstall the scripts.
     
Loading...

Share This Page