Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NOTE: Filesystem quotas are enabled

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Nirjonadda, Aug 30, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I want enable Backup Configuration feature but I am getting one Note from Configure Backup Directory. Please let me know that How we can do the Backup configuration? Also How we can setup backup only in Google Drive, not local directory or local hard drive?

    Screenshot_96.png
     
  2. SysSachin

    SysSachin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Yes Additional Destinations is Google Drive but why showing this Note? So no need Enable System Backup for Google Drive backup?

    Screenshot_97.png
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,127
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Click on "Edit" for the Google Drive backup destination, and ensure to enable the following option if you want system backups stored on the remote destination:

    Transfer System Backups to Destination

    Thank you.
     
  5. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    No need Enable Backup Status from Backup Configuration? But why showing Note, Is this any error from server?

    Code:
    NOTE: Filesystem quotas are enabled. To prevent performance degradation, the system automatically disables quotas on non-root filesystems that contain a backup destination.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,127
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can safely ignore that warning message since you are not storing backups locally. The "/backup" directory is on the root filesystem in the example you provided, meaning that quotas are not automatically disabled. This would apply if you were using /home as the local backup directory, and /home was on it's own separate partition.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So we can not storing backups locally in "/backup" directory ? Does not have option Scheduling and Retention in Google Drive backup destination? Its Backup Daily or Backup Weekly?
     
    #7 Nirjonadda, Aug 31, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2017
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,127
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can, but it's not recommended if you don't have a separate partition for the /home directory.

    There's no option to have separate retention periods for each destination. There's a feature request open for this functionality at:

    Ability to control retention for S3 Backup Destination

    It mentions "Amazon S3" in the title, but the request would apply to any remote destination.

    Thank you.
     
  9. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    So Its Backup Daily or Backup Weekly? I have not any backup files in Google Drive after 5 day.
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,127
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The retention settings you configure apply to all backup destinations (both local and remote). As far as the lack of backups on your remote destination, do you notice any error messages in your backup logs located in the /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/ directory?

    Thank you.
     
  11. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does not have any /usr/local/cpanel/logs/cpbackup/ directory. I have not Enabled local backup.

    Screenshot_101.png
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,127
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That option is for backups in general, and is not specific to local backups. You'd need to enable that option and then uncheck "Retain backups in the default backup directory." if you want to disable local backups.

    Thank you.
     
  13. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have uncheckd "Retain backups in the default backup directory" Then does system automatically disables quotas on non-root filesystems that contain a backup destination? But still showing NOTE: Filesystem quotas are enabled. The "/backup" directory meaning that quotas are not automatically disabled?
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,127
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The warning message will appear no matter what. Quotas will not be disabled based on the information you have provided because you have a separate partition for /home.

    Thank you.
     
  15. Nirjonadda

    Nirjonadda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    One more question, In case If automatically disables quotas then how we can re-enable quotas? Also How to check if quotas enabled or not? If quotas disabled then does happen any problem?
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,127
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We document how to enable quotas at:

    Initial Setup Wizard - Set Up Quotas - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    The lack of quotas won't prevent an account from working, it would just prevent the tracking of disk space usage.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page