The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NSD - Anyone used it yet?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nickp666, May 16, 2008.

  1. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
    Started noticing this message during upcp:

    Code:
    Updating DNS Server...NSD is not the configured local nameserver.
    Use /scripts/setupnameserver to change this setting.
    
    Has anyone actually used NSD yet?

    If yes, is anyone aware of the pros and cons of doing so?

    TIA
     
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The documentation will give you the answers you want: http://www.nlnetlabs.nl/nsd/

    Full support for NSD is not complete at this time.
     
  3. nickp666

    nickp666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    /dev/null
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No problem. It's lighter on resources than BIND, but lacks a number of features (e.g. it's authoritative only). Full support should be in 11.24 (that's just an estimate).
     
  5. caeos

    caeos Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    UK
    so by saying its not complete - means that we should just ignore he erroro messages at the moment?
     
  6. robalo

    robalo Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Will there be NSD-based cpanel-dnsonly ? What about clustering support ?
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Correct.

    There is discussion of NSD-base DNSOnly.
     
  8. MaraBlue

    MaraBlue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Carmichael, CA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm wondering if this relates to the problems I'm having as of this morning


    Noticed this is the upcp email from the last few nights:
    Code:
    Updating DNS Server...NSD is not the configured local nameserver.
    Use /scripts/setupnameserver to change this setting.
    I know this forum isn't an official means of support, I'm just trying to try everything I can to fix it myself before submitting a support ticket. I'm very close to that. In five years..it would be my first. This has me totally baffled.
     
  9. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    [Rather later than never]
    Just ignore the error for now. If BIND is running w/o problems leave it to that for now. If you've got a DNS cluster set up, don't change it at all for now untill you're fully sure it's supported. Just my two cents...
     
  10. tandyuk

    tandyuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    If this isnt fully supported by cpanel yet, then why the hell is it mentioned in a RELEASE build of cpanel??

    Surely this shit should be kept to EDGE builds
     
  11. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18

    There is checking in RELEASE builds to see which nameserver is installed. You are not being switched to NSD or using any NSD components in RELEASE.

    I'm not sure I understand your complaint. Are you concerned that the message notifying you that you are not using NSD is appearing, or something else?
     
  12. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18

    I don't see anything in that thread newer than 2 months old. Is upcp hanging on updating nameservers?

    Please, feel free to submit a support request, I promise we won't reflect it negatively on you.

    NSD should have 0 effect on this as support is not turned on by default.
     
  13. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18

    This isn't necessarily an error, it just lets you know that you are still using BIND and you can use /scripts/setupnameserver to move to NSD.
     
  14. ralphday

    ralphday Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The message does sound like its encouraging you to change to NSD. If its not fully baked messages like that shouldn't be in STABLE releases.
     
  15. Bdzzld

    Bdzzld Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can't agree more. Especially if you do not know about its changes and what it will do to a working DNS cluster. Has this been tested?
     
  16. allpar

    allpar Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Weighing in to agree. I'm glad I checked on the forum before blindly switching over.

    Running STABLE so I don't expect oddities like that.
     
  17. tandyuk

    tandyuk Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    The "complaint" is that if its not been fully tested, with all the planned functionality included, surely there should be no mention of it anywhere but in edge builds.
    Once you've tested it and got it working properly, then fine roll it out to other builds, but until then keep it in edge only.
     
  18. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Suppose you move from Bind to NSD. Is there any tool to move back to Bind?
     
  19. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes. /scripts/setupnameserver will move seamlessly between NSD and BIND. BIND is not actually uninstalled when moving to NSD so returning to it is rather trivial (named.conf continues to receive all zone updates even when using NSD).
     
  20. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Great. Will be remembered when testing.



    NSD Cpanel's support allows only for authoritative zones? or the NSD per se has not that kind of functionality?
    How can we know when full support is effectively ready?
     
Loading...

Share This Page