Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Office 2007 Files Downloading as ZIP Files in Internet Explorer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by crazyaboutlinux, Jul 30, 2011.

  1. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi,

    Office 2007 Files Downloading as ZIP Files in Internet Explorer any ideas what to be done to resolve this issue ?
     
  2. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    And its working in other browsers like Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, Opera
     
  3. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    check attached snapshot Screenshot_2.png
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,242
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    What's that, IE6?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    IE6 is a version of Internet Explorer browser
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can you hover over the actual link before clicking to download it so that we can see what it shows the actual path for the file? If it's wrongly detecting the file type, then that's an issue with that browser more than anything.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,242
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I can duplicate this in IE8. Not clicking a file, opening a URL mydomain.com/filename.xlsx it opens a prompt asking if I want to save filename.zip, I select yes and a prompt opens asking where to save, on that window select where, give the file name shown the correct extension .xlsx and below file name select All Files instead of zip file.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    /http://www.glasscolabs.in/Testing.xlsx open this url in Internet explorer browser & check it will ask to save as .zip extension and if run this in Mozilla or Chrome it downloads as .xlsx need solution

    let us know what is the solution ??
     
    #8 crazyaboutlinux, Aug 5, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2011
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Infopro provided a solution already.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. crazyaboutlinux

    crazyaboutlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yes but question is why we need to do that every time for all websites on the server ??
    this is the alternate solutions not primary

    the same thing is working on our other sever where i don't need to follow steps mentioned by inforpro
     
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,242
    Likes Received:
    385
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might find something to go on here.

    Like this tip for example:

    Now if that tip does indeed work for you, we can safely assume this is not an issue with cPanel I would think. :)

    GL!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice