The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OK, EA3 is in the release tree... now what?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by verdon, Oct 11, 2007.

  1. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just playing devil's advocate here...

    I have
    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-R17649
    CENTOS Enterprise 3.9 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    I'm running along with apache 1.3 and php 4.4.7 and mysql 4.1.2 and everything is nice and stable, server loads aren't too bad, and so on.

    Is there any real reason for me to up to Apache 2 right away? If so, which one? Will I realize improved performance? I don't plan on moving to php 5.x for a couple months yet. Does that matter?

    Just wondering,
    verdon
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    EA3 does provide the ability to run PHP 4 and 5 side-by-side. Perhaps when you do want to migrate to PHP 5, you would want to load both so .php files are executed as PHP 5 and any PHP 4 scripts that break can be temporarily renamed to .php4 until the coder can update the scripts to PHP 5.
     
  3. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ahh... now there's a good reason. Thanks. Has anyone doing this in production noticed any significant changes in server load?
     
  4. oshs

    oshs Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    All I've experienced are headaches with the new EA3 resulting in broken php scripts all over the place.

    My resolution was to revert to Cpanel's STABLE build and use the previous version of EasyApache to fix it all up.

    Shouldn't there be some communication from Cpanel about the new EA3 and it's new features such as Mod-suPHP and Suhosin and nice straightforward how-tos for using the new script and overcoming common errors?
     
  5. lostinspace

    lostinspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    We went to Apache 2.x/Php 5.x + suPHP from Apache 1.x/PHP 4.x on all our shared boxes and had very minor issues.

    The biggest issues for us were:

    Files owned by "nobody".
    *Check Gallery and Soholaunch installations
    Fixed with this simple script from another thread (sorry, don't remember the persons name that posted it):
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    cd /var/cpanel/users
    for user in *
    do
    chown -R $user.$user /home/$user/public_html/*
    done
    
    Users with php configuration values in their .htaccess files.
    Some configuration lines won't work with suPHP - at least, not within the .htaccess file. In particular, "php_value" and "php_flag" values.

    You must move all lines beginning with "php_value" and "php_flag" from the .htaccess file into a file called php.ini (in the public_html directory). Then you must add a line to the .htaccess file like the one below (of course "username" being your actual username).

    suPHP_ConfigPath /home/username/public_html

    You will need to remove php_value and php_flag from ALL .htaccess files you may have. However, you only need to add the suPHP_ConfigPath line in the .htaccess file in the public_html directory.

    Hope this helps!
     
    #5 lostinspace, Oct 15, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2007
  6. oshs

    oshs Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the tips Josh :) I'll have a go on one of our servers shortly.
     
  7. takeover

    takeover Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    upon running easyapache...

    Can't load '/usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/x86_64-linux/auto/Curses/Curses.so' for module Curses: /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.8/x86_64-linux/auto/Curses/Curses.so: undefined symbol: COLOR_PAIRS at /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.8/x86_64-linux/DynaLoader.pm line 230.
    at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5/Curses/UI.pm line 18
    Compilation failed in require at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5/Curses/UI.pm line 18.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /usr/lib/perl5/site_perl/5.8.5/Curses/UI.pm line 18.
    Compilation failed in require at /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/Apache/UI/CLI/Config.pm line 5.
    BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/Apache/UI/CLI/Config.pm line 5.
    Compilation failed in require at /var/cpanel/perl/easy/Cpanel/Easy/Apache/UI/CLI.pm line 196.

    have run checkperlmodules, fixperl and forced a cpanel update
     
  8. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you running Perl 5.8.8? If not, check out our cPanel 11 Upgrade Checklist sticky post on how to install that.

    Otherwise, if you are running Perl 5.8.8, please submit a support ticket regarding this issue directly to us.
     
  9. xisn

    xisn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    same error

    David G -

    I have the exact same error as described by takeover, here is the output from perl -v

    This is perl, v5.8.8 built for x86_64-linux
     
  10. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'd recommend submitting a support ticket so we can have this issue resolved for you as well :).
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try

    /scripts/perlinstaller --force Curses
     
  12. asiams

    asiams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hokkaido, JAPAN
    .htaccess problem in Apache2.2

    I do not use suPHP. But I have problem in using password protection from Cpanel for the customers.

    Customers want to use basic password protection for the folders. Now with Apache 2.2, it does not work from Cpanel.

    What would be the proper way to make this feature work from Cpanel?

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-C17665
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    Thanks in advance.

    asiams
     
  13. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would recommend you submit a support ticket regarding this issue :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page