The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ok i really messed up need help with DNS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by lexmark, Mar 7, 2004.

1. lexmark

lexmark Well-Known Member

Hello, ok here is the thing. I host a few websites and used to pay someone to administer my site, but he began ignoring my emails and not help me with major problems so now I have decided to learn everything on my own. However I have a problem, with DNS now. I hope I am explaining this right since I am new to this. For a while my nameservers were (Ill use mysite as an example) NS1.MYSITE.COM and NS2.MYSITE.COM for some reason when I switched over to another server the nameservers changed to DNS1.MYSITE.COM and DNS2.MYSITE.COM. I was told by the person who set this up and doesnt want to help me anymore to change the nameservers from DNs1 and 2 back to NS1 and 2.

So I did that and my site went down, so I assumed it was because of the change and I quicklk changed it back to DNS1.MYSITE.COM and DNS2.MYSITE.COM. The thing is now my site is online but the domains that I host are not online, if I type in their domain name their site wont appear as if their domain doesnt exist, it goes straight to msn search.

I use dotster, what exactly do I need to do to get this to work again? Please tell me step by step, what I need to adjust in WHM or in dotster. Thanks

2. Steve-PWH

Steve-PWH Well-Known Member

When was they changed?

Are the other domains pointing at NS1.MYSITE.COM , NS2.MYSITE.com

if ur site points to DNS1.SITE.COM and u change nameservers to NS1.SITE.COM your site will go down untill u changed the domain nameservers

3. Steve-PWH

BTW changing Nameservers will have downtime / delay upto 48 hours while the DNS servers around world update

4. lexmark