The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old MySQL client version, how do I update?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by internetfab, Mar 20, 2007.

  1. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi all,

    Just noticed that one of our servers running MySQL 5.0.27 states that the client version is 4.1.10 in phpmyadmin. Ran a yum info on MySQL-client and it says 5.0.27 installed.

    Searched through a few threads here and one mentioned a full removal of all rpm's and a forced update of Mysql.

    Tried just running a mysqlup --force but that didn't help at all. I also tried a mysql_upgrade but the check got stuck on:

    Code:
    ERROR 1060 (42S21) at line 22: Duplicate column name 'File_priv'
    Otherwise all seems fine, databases are working and this server has been running mysql5 from the beginning (well since first upgrade after a standard cpanel install).

    Any idea how to get the client up to version 5.0.27?
     
  2. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    phpmyadmin reports wrong mysql client version

    Ok, I guess Im a bit confused here.

    phpinfo reports that the client version is indeed 5.0.27 but phpMyAdmin reports client version 4.1.10. Is there a setting in phpmyadmin that I need to update OR is the a local cPanel mysql client somewhere?

    The error that I got in the first post can be dismissed since it just means that the database structure has already been updated.

    So it just seems that phpmyadmin is having this error... help anyone?
     
  3. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Found the culprit..

    phpmyadmin through cPanel uses cPanel's own PHP installation which is php 4.4.2, therefor it uses an old client.
    Tried an update to latest current - no change. Is it possible to update the cPanel php version without breaking things? Is there a way to do it through WHM or /scripts?
     
  4. Shelly

    Shelly Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm so glad to see your posts.

    It's just what I want to ask.

    Hopefully someone can help us.

    Attachment is the phpMyAdmin interface which shows 2 different MySQL version.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I found where you can change this - but I'm not sure what kind of consequences it might have on cPanel's functions. Im guessing none but have decided not to change it manually anyway.

    If you'd like to change it, you can do this: (if for example you want it to use MySQL5 client instead of MySQL4 client)

    Code:
    mv /usr/local/cpanel/lib/libmysqlclient.so.14 /usr/local/cpanel/lib/libmysqlclient.so.14.backup
    ln -s /usr/lib/libmysqlclient.so.15.0.0 /usr/local/cpanel/lib/libmysqlclient.so.14
    
    Use at your own risk :)
     
  6. ambrish

    ambrish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mumbai
    It may be help you

    >>Is it possible to update the cPanel php version without breaking things? Is there a way to do it through WHM or /scripts?
    /scripts/mysqlup {If it not work as you mention earlier}
    try
    /scripts/upcp --force
    It updates without breaking things?
    If you are using old scripts then try to use mysql 4.x.x otherwise 5.x.x...

    :)
     
  7. bornonline

    bornonline Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    I noticed this today too.

    In phpmyadmin
    Server version: 5.0.45-community
    MySQL client version: 4.1.22

    So, guess we wait or has anyone tried interfab fix? :D
     
  8. apn3a

    apn3a Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    apparently not.. i have the same exact problem. anyone can think of a solution please?
     
  9. internetfab

    internetfab Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The fix I posted should work without a problem, have had it running on a server since then.
    Give it a try :)
     
  10. apn3a

    apn3a Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    unfortunately that did not work for me. After doing that (changed the path you are suggesting to lib64 since i use centos 5 64bit) i receive the following 500 error when i try to access phpmyadmin:

    Internal Server Error

    Premature end of script headers: php: Please check /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log for the exact error.

    Also the error log shows:

    /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php: /usr/local/cpanel/lib64/libmysqlclient.so.14: version `libmysqlclient_14' not found (required by /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php)
    Internal Error: "GET /3rdparty/phpMyAdmin/index.php HTTP/1.1" Premature end of script headers: php: Please check /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log for the exact error.

    i had to reverse the process to make phpmyadmin to work again. any more ideas?
     
  11. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Rebuild the internal PHP binary using /scripts/makecpphp
     
  12. apn3a

    apn3a Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    unfortunately that did not do the trick either. i still get:

    MySQL client version: 4.1.21
    Used PHP extensions: mysql


    in phpmyadmin. :( any more suggestions?
     
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My apologies, I mis-read the threading, thinking you had already removed all the MySQL 4 related RPMs and files.

    What is your cPanel version?
     
  14. apn3a

    apn3a Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    my cpanel/whm version is: WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.18.1-R20683 Release.


    also, after running /scripts/makecpphp, cpanel now says i have PHP version 5.2.3 on the left side. However, all the software i am using says that im running PHP 5.2.5 (which i had install from ea prior the makecpphp). Do i need to re-run ea to update cpanel's php version or there is something else wrong? Because before i run /scripts/makecpphp cpanel was showing PHP version 5.2.5.

    thanks!
     
  15. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The profile used by makecpphp defaults to PHP 5.2.3. There are a couple options available to you:

    1. Modify /scripts/makecpphp.profile.yaml to use PHP 5.2.5 (entry looks like Cpanel::Easy::PHP5::2_5)
    2. Use the system installed PHP (rm /var/cpanel/usecpphp)

    Only with option 2 will a normal EA3 build update the PHP version used by cPanel.
     
  16. apn3a

    apn3a Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks that did the trick.

    About the mysql issue, for some reason it was solved after i rebuild apache and php. thanks again!
     
    #16 apn3a, Feb 19, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page