Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

One Domain Name, Two VPS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Johnny Wilson, Mar 16, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Johnny Wilson

Johnny Wilson Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This might be a simple question, but something I'm really new to and that's clustering. I'll give my current setup below. I have many sites, but two VPS because one site is large and would degrade other sites. They honestly didn't need as many resources either. But my "umbrella company" is ftlp llc so I use that domain for both servers. See below.

VPS 1

server.domain.tld
    ns1.domain.tld
    ns2.domain.tld

VPS 2

server2.domain.tld
    ns3.domain.tld
    ns4.domain.tld

I like them having that "branding" of the domain and honestly, I don't use email servers at all and these are flat out just for sites both of them. I'm very new and just literally found out about clustering, so I'm just curious if doing that is worth my time? I'm reformatting both right now to get a bit of NGINX optimization and figured it's a good time to approach this, but I am not a DNS expert, certainly would be nice to put these two in some sort of relation though.

Anyway, basic question, am I right to just keep this simple or is there a better way to make this set up a little more fluid? (also, I won't lie, I might need a little hand holding) ;)

#1 Johnny Wilson, Mar 16, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 16, 2017
  2. Johnny Wilson

Johnny Wilson Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Forgot to add I host all domain names on Cloudflare, not sure if that's of importance or not.

3. cPanelMichael

cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member