The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

One Nameserver IP

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Galaxianz, Dec 17, 2013.

  1. Galaxianz

    Galaxianz Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I only have one IP assigned to me on DigitalOcean VPS and would like to assign that to both ns that I have registered. I've successfully registered the hostnames through GoDaddy, but when it comes to assigning the IP through WHM's basic setup, it fails saying that there's no IPs available. I've tried to manually set it by going editing /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml manually and deleting the cache file, but it hasn't made a difference.

    I'm a total server newbie and I'm only attempting to follow basic instructions that I can find on the web. Can anyone enlighten me? Totally stuck.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The functionality of the "Nameserver IPs" page is for visual purposes only. It is a report, and not a page meant to configure any aspect of DNS. It reports the nameservers used by DNS zones on the server, as well as a count of the the number of zones that use a given nameserver. The important entries on the cPanel server are the "A" records that you have added for your name servers. Thus, as long as you have registered these name servers to the matching IP addresses at the domain registrar, then no further DNS configuration is required. The "Nameserver IPs" page can include cached data, so you can safely ignore any mentions of "No IP" on that page as it may take some time before it updates.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Galaxianz

    Galaxianz Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for responding, however, I feel that my issue remains.

    Most of my sites load fine, it's just that there's one important one that's having issues and refuses to load. Although, when I do a DNS check on another site on the server:

    This problem is shared with the other websites on the server, however, they DO indeed load. I think that may be the problem, but I'm not sure why the other sites load fine... Confusing!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try clearing the browser and DNS cache on your home computer to see if that makes a difference. The website you provided loads well, and I see no issues with the name servers per the "dig" utility or with IntoDNS.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Galaxianz

    Galaxianz Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The account with the problem is gamexploits.org and I'm not the only one with the problem
     
  6. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    I recommend that you open a support ticket using the link in my signature. There is a DNS configuration issue with that domain.

    Code:
    % dig gamexploits.org
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.9.2-P1 <<>> gamexploits.org
    ;; global options: +cmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 12104
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1
    
    ;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
    ; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 512
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;gamexploits.org.               IN      A
    
    ;; Query time: 397 msec
    ;; SERVER: 127.0.1.1#53(127.0.1.1)
    ;; WHEN: Wed Dec 18 10:29:42 2013
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 44
    
    See the status: SERVFAIL ?
    That's usually a DNS configuration error and easily fixed, but we would need to log in to further investigate that.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I notice that the parent name servers for this domain name are not active. Please access your domain registrar and ensure the name server IP address is properly associated with the name server.

    Thank you.
     
  8. Galaxianz

    Galaxianz Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is and they're set as the same as the other domains...
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page