The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

One public IP multiple servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Slacker_au, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. Slacker_au

    Slacker_au Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    I dont know if this is possible with cpanel but i thought i would ask anyway.

    I would like to setup a network where there would be 1 public IP address and multiple servers behind it.

    The reason for this is that we are launching a free product and would like the ability to load balance multiple servers with no downtime for the customers.

    I did have a go at the whole cluster function but found that the DNS held in most ISP's for over 1 hour which caused downtime for the site we tested.

    Dose anyone know if this sort of option is available with WHM? and if so where to get more information from.

    Regards,

    James
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Would that be multiple cPanel/WHM servers? If so, placing multiple cPanel/WHM servers behind a single publicly visible IP address is a bad idea as a cPanel/WHM license should only be used on a single server. If you attempt this, our licensing system will lock out your license and you will need to contact our billing staff to manually unlock the license for you.
     
  3. Slacker_au

    Slacker_au Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the reply.

    I would be happy to have a license for each server i have,

    the single public IP address that I would like is for the hosting side only, so that all of the customers web sites are loaded through the one IP. The servers behind would be if you like storage so to speak.

    With the license issue aside would you know if this is possible to do.
     
  4. Arhineus

    Arhineus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If I understand your inquiry properly, I think the way to go would be virtualization, and then in that case, it should work.
     
  5. Slacker_au

    Slacker_au Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for that, do you have a link that you know where i could get some more information?
     
  6. FIRARO

    FIRARO Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Load balancing & Virtualization

    I am using virtual machines but they are just the same as physical machines since as it was previously mentioned by the moderator, the license is per machine and thus you will need more than one license and more than 1 real IP.
     
  7. kdoShaun

    kdoShaun Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A solutions could be as such


    Server 1 - Main ip 1.1.1.1
    Server 2 - Main ip 1.1.1.2
    Server 3 - Main ip 1.1.1.3
    Load Balancer - 2.2.2.2


    The load balancer then passes the traffic to 1.1.1.1/2/3
    Then you set all the clients sites to use 2.2.2.2 in the DNS templates.
    This means that when cpanel license checks are done they would use 1.1.1.1/2/3
     
Loading...

Share This Page