The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

one site on server won't resolve-- how to troubleshoot?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alexmack, May 18, 2014.

  1. alexmack

    alexmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've got one website on the server that formerly worked but no longer does. I'm not sure when this started.

    Trying to ping the site doesn't work ("ping request could not find host")

    a dig command on the server results in the following: (instances of the domain in question are replaced with domain.com)

    Code:
    root@snowwhite [~]# dig @localhost domain.com
    
    ; <<>> DiG 9.3.6-P1-RedHat-9.3.6-20.P1.el5_8.6 <<>> @localhost domain.com
    ; (1 server found)
    ;; global options:  printcmd
    ;; Got answer:
    ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 54795
    ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
    
    ;; QUESTION SECTION:
    ;domain.com.         IN      A
    
    ;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
    com.                    900     IN      SOA     a.gtld-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1400443331 1800 900 604800 86400
    
    ;; Query time: 100 msec
    ;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
    ;; WHEN: Sun May 18 15:02:34 2014
    ;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 112
    
     
  2. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    A couple things to check:

    - Did the domain expire?
    - Is the domain pointed to the correct nameservers?
     
  3. alexmack

    alexmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    domain is not expired and is pointed to the correct nameservers (the same nameservers other sites on the server point to and function fine)
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try using a website such as IntoDNS to see if there are any problems with the DNS. Also, check to see if deleting/re-creating the DNS zone on the cPanel server makes a difference (backup the zone beforehand if there are custom entries that you must add again).

    Thank you.
     
  5. alexmack

    alexmack Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i deleted and remade it and there was no change. intodns says the following: Can't get nameservers at parent server!<br>I only check domains not subdomains!
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    671
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If the parent servers are not found, then it likely indicates an issue at the domain registrar. Feel free to open a support ticket with us so we can review the actual domain name and confirm if that's the case. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can also PM me your domain and I'll take a look when I have a sec.
     
Loading...

Share This Page