The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

One SSH/SFTP for an addon domain, a different one for the primary domain?

Discussion in 'Security' started by spaceman, Jul 21, 2013.

  1. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    We're thinking about using addon domains for the purpose of creating staging versions of live hosted domains, and just debating the pros and cons amongst ourselves.

    One question raised was whether it's possible to have one SSH/SFTP access for the live site, and a different SSH/SFTP access for the addon domain which is sharing the same hosting account. The reason for asking this is because it may be that, from a workflow perspective, we don't want to give permission to the developers working on the staging site to be able to access or upload code on the live site - that'll be taken care of someone else.

    Thanks,

    Ross.
     
  2. LDHosting

    LDHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, the previous post is correct. You may want to consider using a separate account instead of an Addon domain if you want it to have it's own SSH/SFTP access.

    Thank you.
     
  4. spaceman

    spaceman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks very much for that. One of my devs is advising me of a workaround by using version control (i.e. git). In his own words:

    "We can use branches in git (we already to this) and provide 3rd party devs with their own branch of the codebase to work on. This would allow us to separate the live and staging sites. The staging site would automatically deploy code from the 3rd party developer's branch only, while the live site would need an Itomic staff member to make changes to it. You wouldn't be able to accidentally update the live site with the 3rd party branch for example."

    Sounds like a plan?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page