The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

oopscheck and RAID1

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anup123, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    RAID1 setup (dual cpu/2gigram) RH9
    oopscheck gives no warning
    smartctl indicates one disk dying.
    So replacing one disk after RAID rsync completes. Dying disk confirmed by DC.

    Just thought to post this that sometimes "Automation" has to be overriden by manual regular checks. if you are on RAID1, beware ... all those default smartctl or /scripts/smartcheck does show nothing. Use the latest smartctl as the default one could be misleading.

    Maybe something very specific to my setup, but just sharing my thoughts.

    Anup
     
  2. radical

    radical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    how do i confirm if Raid1 is installed

    hi

    since you already have raid1 configured on your server, needed your help here. I have a new server from my DC, which was initially supposed to have 2X120GBIDE , but they have say that they have now given 2X160GB scsi drives due to non-availability of 120gb drives, and say that raid1 is configured. in whm, the physical disks (under server info) show only 1 drive. i run Centos3.4 with Cpanel/WHM latest.

    Physcial Disks
    hdc: SAMSUNG SP1604N, ATA DISK drive
    hdc: max request size: 1024KiB
    hdc: 312581808 sectors (160041 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=19457/255/63, UDMA(100)
    hdc: cache flushes supported

    the filesystem shows 8 partitions of sda1 to sda8. how do i confirm if raid is actually installed

    thanks
    Sunny
     
  3. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    according to this tutorial http://www.linux.org/docs/ldp/howto/Boot+Root+Raid+LILO-3.html ;)

    The geometry information for the drive can be obtained from fdisk with the command:


    fdisk -ul (little L)
    fdisk -ul /dev/hda

    and it should look something like this:

    Disk /dev/hda: 16 heads, 63 sectors, 39770 cylinders
    Units = sectors of 1 * 512 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/hda1 63 33263 16600+ fd Linux raid autodetect
    /dev/hda2 33264 443519 205128 82 Linux swap
    /dev/hda3 443520 40088159 19822320 fd Linux raid autodetect
     
    #3 gorilla, Apr 17, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2005
  4. radical

    radical Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    need a bit more help here

    sorry i am a bit of a linux newbie, so what exactly should i use in the command. my file system shows /dev/sda1 - should i run fdisk -ul /dev/sda ? sorry if i sound dumb
    my confusion is that the physical disk in WHM is shown as- hdc: SAMSUNG SP1604N, ATA DISK drive. but in the /var/log/dmesg i get only one drive /dev/sda. The actual config of the server which i had requested for was 2X120GB IDE Raid1 with a third HDD IDE of 60GB for backup's. i really want to be sure what my server really has, before getting back to my DC for not giving me the server i ordered. any help will be really appreciated.

    thanks
    Sunny


     
  5. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Hi radical, yes just run fdisk -ul and see what the info is ;)
     
  6. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    cat /proc/mdstat should give information about RAID setup i think.
    WHM *should* show all the disks.
     
  7. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    In WHM wouldnt it just appear as one drive if its raid1 ( mirrored) ?
     
  8. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    It doesn't in my case. All drives are shown.
    cat /proc/mdstat shows the RAID details...

    cat /proc/mdstat ::
    Personalities : [raid1]
    md1 : active raid1 hdc3[0] hda3[1]
    78678272 blocks [2/2] [UU]

    md0 : active raid1 hdc1[0] hda1[1]
    305088 blocks [2/2] [UU]

    unused devices: <none>

    WHM Server Status > Server Information > Physical disks:

    Shows all the drives


    Regards
    Anup
     
    #8 anup123, Apr 18, 2005
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2005
  9. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    hmm interesting regarding the WHM info.

    BTW have you ever setup a raid10 system ( which is mirrored and striped across 4 drives)
    Been thinking of satisfying my hardware obsession and building another monster ;)
     
  10. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Nope, Next i am planning is RAID5.
    More about RAID ... good summary treatment:

    http://www.acnc.com/04_00.html

    for different RAID levels.

    Regards
    Anup
     
  11. Kerstin

    Kerstin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    RAID5 are only aivailable for SCISI drives ?
    RAID5 controller needed.
    The controller splitting datas with a intelligent
    algorythm to maybe 5 drives.
    When one drive crashed, all datas can be aesy restored
    when the drive replaced.
     

Share This Page