Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Open a specific port

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Def, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. Def

    Def Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Hi. Can someone tell me how to open a particular port? I need to open a port for an ecommerce gateway.

    TIA for any help.
     
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    What is blocking the port?
     
  3. Def

    Def Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I'm using IPtables and PortSentry.
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Well if portsentry is monitoring the port, you should edit your portsentry.conf

    If iptables has the port closed you can open it with the following command:

    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport <YOUR_PORT_NUMBER_HERE> -j ACCEPT

    assuming of course that it is TCP traffic you are trying to let through to your app.
     
  5. Def

    Def Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I believe that did the trick. Thanks :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice