The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Open a specific port

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Def, Jul 6, 2004.

  1. Def

    Def Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi. Can someone tell me how to open a particular port? I need to open a port for an ecommerce gateway.

    TIA for any help.
     
  2. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What is blocking the port?
     
  3. Def

    Def Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm using IPtables and PortSentry.
     
  4. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Well if portsentry is monitoring the port, you should edit your portsentry.conf

    If iptables has the port closed you can open it with the following command:

    iptables -A INPUT -p tcp --dport <YOUR_PORT_NUMBER_HERE> -j ACCEPT

    assuming of course that it is TCP traffic you are trying to let through to your app.
     
  5. Def

    Def Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I believe that did the trick. Thanks :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page