The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Open Base

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kris1351, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    We are getting some wierd open base issues in RHE now it seems. Here is the output of a test php page:

    <?php
    echo 'test';
    ?>

    results:

    Warning: Unknown(): open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/home/dir/public_html/test.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/intregus:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp) in Unknown on line 0

    Warning: Unknown(/home/dir/public_html/test.php): failed to open stream: Operation not permitted in Unknown on line 0

    Warning: (null)(): Failed opening '/home/dir/public_html/test.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in Unknown on line 0

    Is there somehing going on here that can be fixed without removing protection?
     
  2. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    No, that is direct access.
     
  4. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hmmm....

    Normaly you get this with when you use a temporely url.

    I don't use RHE (yet)
    But that is not so nice.

    is it on al your accounts?
    When you remove the open basedir protection is it working then?
    I am curious because i was planning on a server with RHE and cpanel.

    martin
     
  5. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    So far we are pretty unimpressed with Cpanel on RHE. When updating Apache with /scripts/easyapache we cannot get Curl, Curl+ssl or gettext to compile no matter what choice of selections we pick. We have tried just about every option listed on the forums here. The open base is definately acting strange when a customer cannot run a test.php from their directoy with open base on.

    There is a ticket on and Michael is looking at it. Hopefully it is just a small tweak and things will be normal again.
     
  6. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I saw ev1servers only had RHE with cpanel on the servers but with those lacks i have to think twice now.

    Please let me know if they found a solution for the base drama.

    That is pretty importent these days.


    Martin
     
  7. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    They will get it worked out quick I bet. Seems lots are having similar issues.
     
  8. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I think your right.

    And either way red hat 9 is no option for me.
    And since i have most of my servers with ev1 i have little choice.

    But like you said it wil be better soon :D

    succes

    Martin
     
  9. efeito

    efeito Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    .pt
    Maybe i am a lucky man... but no problems with RHEL ES until now... 3 servers with it and no problems.... well. at least no serious problems. Small problems can happen on any distro :D
     
  10. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    For the most part we are ok, but there are a handful of customers that utilize Curl and the other items listed that are pretty hot. Until Cpanel fixes it we are kind of dead in the water with them. Things like x-cart requiring open base to be opened need to be fixed very fast.

    We use two different DCs now and one has all RHE and the other is ready for upgrading. May just stick with 9 for awhile until things get sorted.
     
Loading...

Share This Page