The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

open dns servers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by outlaw web, Nov 7, 2007.

  1. outlaw web

    outlaw web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    running dnsreport it shows i have open dns servers etc.

    I've tried a few things to no avail.

    i plan to edit named.conf and add "set recursive lookup off (0)"

    where about do I add it though and what's the correct format to put it in....



    thanks
    ow
     
  2. outlaw web

    outlaw web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm

    tried all options posted on here to sort the open dns issue and still diddly fixes it.

    f*ck it they can stay open i don't really give a toss :)

    owm
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
  4. outlaw web

    outlaw web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hi Chirpy,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I've actually tried everything posted in that thread plus a few others as well as the tutorial on webhostgear etc and still open dns servers show.

    This is a new server I moved over onto but the last server, I managed to close the open dns following the same thread you mention.

    It's really strange how it doesn't seem to solve the issue now because I am following all instructions to the letter.

    regards
    davy
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I would guess that you're running chroot named? If so, you need to modify /var/named/etc/named.conf instead of /etc/named.conf and then restart named after modifying it.
     
  6. outlaw web

    outlaw web Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    hmm..

    it's defintely /etc/named.conf i run

    tried the one you mentioned but it cannot be found.

    i'll get to the bottom of it :)

    cheers
    ow
     
    #6 outlaw web, Nov 9, 2007
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2007
  7. MrYoDa

    MrYoDa Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Chirpy, you are the man :)
    my path was var/named/chroot/etc/

    but changing that was the answer,
    so what is the named.conf in /etc/ for ?

    thanks again...
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Ideally it should be there, or if it is, it should be a symlink to the live one in the chroot directory. More often than not, it's setup as you have it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page