Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Open recursive resolver

Discussion in 'Security' started by peratik, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. peratik

    peratik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    This site Open recursive DNS resolver test says:
    I have set:

    Then:

    Code:
    service named restart
    But it still says Open recursive resolver detected on ***myserverip***

    Please help how can I fix it?

    Regards
     
  2. triantech

    triantech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kochi, India, India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hey,

    Where have you set this ? under the general options category or under any views such as internal or external ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. peratik

    peratik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    external and general
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,401
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    In your /etc/named.conf file, look for:

    Code:
    view    "external" {
    What is the recursion value under this view? Please keep in mind that third-party tools are not always accurate. Have you tried checking on another utility or with the command line?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. peratik

    peratik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello

    Yes I have tested by another tools: Test for Open Resolvers

    It says closed, Addresses marked closed may not even be running a resolver.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,401
    Likes Received:
    1,953
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Right, based on the output you provided, it's simply an issue of the third-party test you used not showing accurate results.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice