Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

open_basedir - not working for addon domains.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by likudio, Jan 11, 2015.

  1. likudio

    likudio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    As I understand, open_basedir's purpose is to limit a PHP file access to other resources, other than it's DocumentRoot. Fine until here.

    Let's say I have cPanel account, "www.somesite.com" which has path /home/somesite/(public_html/), as a main domain.

    And in my account, I want to add an Addon Domain, "www.othersite.com", which will point to: /home/somesite/www_othersite as DocumentRoot.

    As I enable open_basedir, I expect that for each of my Addon Domain, its access to be limited to DocumentRoot ( /home/somesite/www_othersite in our situation) , NOT to users root folder (/home/somesite/);

    I find this issue as being a bug; is there any known work around or should I report it somewhere using a ticket, so it can be fixed?

    Regards,
    A.
     
  2. secureconfig

    secureconfig Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello ,

    do you actived open_basedir correctly ?
    please run this command and paste output :
    # cat /usr/local/lib/php.ini | grep open_basedir

    Good Luck.
     
  3. likudio

    likudio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi secureconfig,

    Your question doesn't make any sense, as according to cPanel documentation, open_basedir setting does not get activated from php.ini, but from /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf, where the VirtualHosts are generated, and they look like this:

    <IfModule concurrent_php.c>
    php4_admin_value open_basedir "path_to_users_dir:/usr/lib/php:/usr/php4/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/usr/local/php4/lib/php:/tmp"
    php5_admin_value open_basedir "/home/path_to_users_dir:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php:/tmp"
    </IfModule>

    The thing is... it should be path_to_document_root, not to users_dir if you get what I'm saying :)

    I'll report a ticket with this issue.
    Thanks anyway.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,827
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Could you let us know the ticket number so we can update this thread with the outcome?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. likudio

    likudio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael,

    Ticket ID is 5955853 and still under investigation;
    Hope it will get fixed ASAP.

    Regards,
    A.
     
  6. likudio

    likudio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After talking with a cPanel representative... they don't see this as a bug.
    They think that this can this can be a feature... so I have to make a "feature request";

    But... can somebody tell me, what is the purpose of open_basedir in cPanel option?
    I mean, what's the point of using open_basedir to the users folder, and not to the domain root?

    I still don't get it...
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,827
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Per our documentation:

    Additional documentation on this option is available at:

    PHP open_basedir Tweak

    Feel free to post the link to the feature request here so we can review it after the submission.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. likudio

    likudio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice