The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OpenVZ Template w/ cPanel Pre-Installed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MikeP, May 29, 2010.

  1. MikeP

    MikeP Registered

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello everyone!

    I'm looking to make an OpenVZ template with cPanel pre-installed, however, my main concern is that the Hostname and IP address details etc will remain the same when the template is used to create other VPS's apart from it's originator. How would I go about writing a script to update the internal database or wherever the details are held?

    Thanks
     
  2. tersum

    tersum Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm surprised you haven't received a response. You would think this is a very common issue.
     
  3. MikeP

    MikeP Registered

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Your telling me! :(
     
  4. HostNine.Com

    HostNine.Com Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    We're looking for one of these as well.
     
  5. robert420

    robert420 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You can find the templates at OpenVZ Templates

    After creating a new vps server in SolusVM then installing cPanel on that vps servers. Once cPanel was installed finished I basically went into SolusVM click create template gave it a name. Then terminated the vps servers recreated it using the new freshly Centos 5 Templates with cPanel pre-installed. Then from this point of view I can still you then the information we'll not stay intact the information we'll automatically be changed to the new vps server whenever that template is use to create that vps server.
     
    #5 robert420, Jul 28, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
  6. VL-Adam

    VL-Adam Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That still never worked for us. Can anyone else confirm?
     
  7. jmginer

    jmginer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Benifato, Spain

    Yes, you can do this,
    but if you restore this template in other vps (with other IP)
    there still exist some configurations (ancien IP) preconfigured.
    And also you need connect by SSH and run a re-check license, because when you try to login to cpanel is expired. Then, by default, is not accesible and with IP errors.

    In DirectAdmin exist a script to reconfigure a template install with new server parameters
    How to change your server IP address

    I think the better way is create a script to run just previously the step to create the template, than delete IP and services configuration,
    and in the next login with port 2087, run a litle check IP and services to reconfigure it with new parameters.

    Best regards!!
     
  8. singh9211

    singh9211 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi robert420,

    Thanks for the link but i think it has old version of CentOS version.
    If anyone have the new pre-created templates, please share the download link.....

    I really need it.

    Thanks in Advance.
     
  9. prohosterz

    prohosterz Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I also need OpenVZ pre-created templates with Cpanel, virtualmin, Gnome & Kde Desktop installed.

    If anybody can help, its really appreciated.
     
  10. Abadon

    Abadon Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    We also seek a solution to this problem.

    I know that the topic is very old so I hope someone to have working solution of the problem.

    We tried to put in:

    the new ip address of the VPS after deployment, but this doesn't help. On the web at:


    we continue to see old precreated ip address.
     
  11. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    if you run upcp --force it will check for IP changes and correct
    set it to run in a bash script after deployment

    there are some other things you might want to fix depending on what back end software you use
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page