The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Opinion on the new NS record feature?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ronny, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. Ronny

    Ronny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    ***When adding a new domain, if the domain is already registered, ignore the configured nameservers, and set the NS line to the authoritative (registered) ones.

    Does anyone find this setting meaningful at all?

    If so, please share your scenario.

    I am finding it very annoying, and has doubled our work load trying to fix NS records for every site created across hundreds of servers during the week or so fater this setting was rolled out and defaulted to in the cpanel updates
     
  2. mrprez

    mrprez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was wondering why that was happening.

    It is a total PITA and needs to be set default to NO. Or even He|| NO.
     
    #2 mrprez, Oct 18, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2006
  3. Ronny

    Ronny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No one else?
     
  4. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Totaly agree with u guys. this feature took us by surprise as well and personally can not see the use of it. Just another wacky feature ? :eek:
     
  5. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's useful if you are moving reseller accounts between servers and the reseller uses custom nameservers. Turn it on, move the accounts, then turn it off.
     
  6. Ronny

    Ronny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What kills me is that it's checked by default on new installs.
     
  7. chilihost

    chilihost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I agree, I turn it off immediately
     
  8. Ronny

    Ronny Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    They should at least put a note that says "DO NOT CHECK UNLESS DOING A MIGRATION"

    Not only does this come on by default on new installs, but I have had hundreds of servers we've had this switched off on.

    If only this wasn't set by default it would have saved a lot of time. We've had to switch it off on hundreds of servers, and tell clients explicitly NEVER to recheck this.
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Then put in a bugzilla enhancement request :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page