The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optimize EIDE hard drives?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by haze, Apr 12, 2002.

  1. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    What exactly does this feature do? How can I be sure it doesn't mess up my system?
     
  2. awsol

    awsol cPanel Test Bitch

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Boston MA
    Iv'e used it on my local development system and it worked fine. I never tried it on my box with all my clients. As it says it can screw up some systems. As for what it does I'm not sure. I did it on my local system which has 1 domain and of course with only one domain a you won't notice a difference. I'm sure a box with 200+ clients would notice a difference.
     
  3. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    I know this is an old thread , but has anybody got any more info on "Optimize EIDE Hard Drives"
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Sure. It enables DMA mode on your disks. It was only an issue with very old disk drives. These days you should always enable it.
     
  5. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    i have it enabled on all the production boxes, works fine.
     
  6. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    Thanks guys for your responds :p
     
  7. bulldog5

    bulldog5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So how do you revert back to disabling it ?
     
  8. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    As chirpy meantioned you always want DMA mode enabled on your disks.
    The newest HD usually run DMA4 or DMA5 and having it enabled is a great performance advantage.
    If you are running XP on your desktop, you can go to your device manager and check out
    "IDE ATA/Atapi controllers" and see what your HDs are running :)
     
  9. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Does the server have to be rebooted or a particular service restarted for this to be in effect after enabling in WHM?
     
  10. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Does this work on SATA drives?
     
  11. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Yes, it does work on SATA drive. :)
     
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    It wouldn't have any effect on SATA drives. You don't need to do anything after running the script for it to work on IDE drives.
     
  13. viooltje

    viooltje Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Why doesn't it have any effect on SATA drives?
    Does someone know this?


    And how do I know if I have SATA or EIDE?
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sda5 227G 20G 195G 10% /
    /dev/sda1 99M 28M 66M 30% /sda1
    /dev/sda3 1012M 34M 927M 4% /sda3
    none 1013M 0 1013M 0% /dev/none
    /dev/sdb1 230G 13G 205G 6% /sdb1
    /tmpo 1012M 34M 927M 4% /var/tmpo
     
Loading...

Share This Page