The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optimize WHM for single website dedicated server

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by Neo321, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. Neo321

    Neo321 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi guys,


    I am running a single high-traffic based website on my dedicated server.

    The server is primarily meant for apache/php/mysql. So I need the minimum of services running. Like if we can trim mail or other unwanted services then that would be nice.
    So, I need whm/cpanel installation leaving the unnecessary modules (if any).

    Also, since I would be running only single website on this webserver, so I guess the most of the system resources should be available for this website.
    I mean, if there is some constraint/limitation applied by whm to all websites, then, I would need that constraint to be removed.

    Basically, I would need a very lean version of whm, with no constraints per account.

    Let me know your thoughts over all this.


    Thanks....
     
  2. ChrisRHS

    ChrisRHS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My thoughts would be that if you are just wanting to run apache, php and mysql and only one site, why would you want to use cPanel? cPanel is geared for hosting multiple sites. If you want to save memory and resources, go without a control panel. This way you only install the services that you require/need.
     
  3. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am going to go with ChrisRHS on this ....

    I don't see any reason for running WHM or Cpanel if you are only running a single site other than maybe you don't know how to manually manage a server I am guessing may be the case here?

    If the above assumption is correct, you only have to ask and I would be glad to give you a hand manually setting up Apache, PHP, Bind, and MySQL to get your server up and running without Cpanel / WHM.

    Since you do have Cpanel / WHM installed, you do have a few options available to you that would not be typically employed under normal circumstances but might actually help you performance wise since you mentioned that your site is a single "high traffic" site ...

    Instead of running a single site, you could actually break your site down into a whole bunch of smaller accounts each handling different areas of your site and since those are spawned by different server handlers, some of your software and process loads can be divided even though you are still on the same physical server. The same technique can be used to mirror sites across different IPs or netcards if your server supports it.

    Also wouldn't hurt to add caching capabilities to Apache if you don't already have that turned on at this point.

    Either way, would be glad to help. Contact me by private message since I don't always catch replies in every thread on here. ;)
     
    #3 Spiral, Aug 25, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  4. Neo321

    Neo321 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your thoughts guyz,

    Well, I am already working on similar lines.
    To share the load of my main server, I am running this second server in round-robin scheme.

    First I tried this setup on this second server ...
    nginx+php-fpm+mysql+bind+csf+lfd

    But, it started giving me "502 bad gateway" error despite optimizations in php-fpm & nginx configuration files .
    Moreover, I am losing security by using nginx as it doesn't have something like mod_security module of apache.

    So, now, I am planning to moveon to this setup.
    apache+mod_php+mysql+bind+csf+lfd
    In this setup, I thought of adding whm/cpanel as I have never seen cpanel taking any resources while analysing performance of server. So, adding it ll give me an ease of configuring csf/lfd easily. Moreover, if sometimes ssh service fails, then it can be restarted by cpanel.


    But, I am concerned if cpanel puts some resource constraints per website & would like to remove that.

    Does cpanel really puts some constraints per website?

    What do you guys think?
     
  5. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    By default, cPanel/WHM does not impose any resource restraints on websites (unless you're talking about something like enforcing file system permissions). However, some restraints can be configured via WHM if they are desired.
     
  6. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cpanel doesn't put any "constraints" per say but it does have substantially high overhead just from all it's various components and connections that make it a lot more resource intensive than most other platforms or obviously a barebones LAMP configuration.

    Normally that is a non-issue but it sounds like this user needs to squeeze out every possible resource.

    If you are using a round robin setup, that will help to an extent but you might run into issues if you don't have your DNS and MySQL clustered (if you have any dynamic content on your site). Cpanel support DNS clustering natively but MySQL will require some manual configurations.

    For this type of configuration, I usually allocate a front end gateway server with nothing but a caching reverse proxy loaded to direct traffic to round robin type servers behind the reverse proxy. This kills any incomplete or bad requests and reduces loads by caching in advance common content for requests and further reduces loads by tasking connections between multiple servers. Now with this setup, you could load MySQL on the gateway server and have the round robin web servers pull from that to simply things.

    There are a number of programs that are pretty good for this sort of thing
    and I have a lot of experience with each of them but anyway if you configure this correctly, each of your servers should be able to handle about 1,000 times their normal connection request limits and substantially handle a massive amount of more traffic reliably.

    I should be around most of the morning this morning if you want to chat any. I have a few ideas on how to drastically increase your site's availability to high traffic loads utilizing your existing servers plus a a few other options on the table. ;)
     
    #6 Spiral, Aug 28, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page