Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Other than "Resolver Configuration", where is WHM storing nameservers?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by zefie, Jan 16, 2018.

Tags:
  1. zefie

    zefie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I once had IPv6 support on my cPanel/WHM VM. I migrated the VM to another server (and kept the same IPv4 addresses (same host same datacenter)), but chose to not give the VM IPv6 this time (as I have no local support for it with my ISP and am still unfamiliar with proper IPv6 security).

    As such, the old configuration had a IPv4 and IPv6 nameserver in resolv.conf. Once in a while I get an email about DNS lookups failing using the IPv6 address (naturally since the VM does not have IPv6 now).

    I go to "Resolver Configuration" and remove the IPv6 entry, and this stops the emails for a few days, until WHM randomly restores that IPv6 resolver entry again, and the emails start again.

    So I am wondering how to actually remove a nameserver, since the "Resolver Configuration" seems to only be temporary.

    This server does not have DHCP.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The resolvers are configured in the /etc/resolv.conf file and that's where WHM detects them from. Are the new resolvers appearing after a reboot?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. zefie

    zefie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I figured it was standard, but yes, somehow its reappearing after security reboots. There are no IPv6 addresses defined (I removed it from the pool in WHM). Yet for some reason every time I replace the IPv6 address in the resolver configuration page, and reboot, it comes back.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. zefie

    zefie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for the response. I found some remains of the IPv6 config in the ifcfg and believe that may have been the cause. I removed it, as well as manually removed the nameserver (again) from resolv.conf. This likely will solve the issue although I won't know until the next security update reboot.

    Thank you for pointing me in the right direction, and apologies, since I should have checked this.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice