The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ouch, sorry that username is taken ??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by serveruser, Apr 3, 2003.

  1. serveruser

    serveruser Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I originally created a user account then started to copy files into it
    when I realized I'd set it up using the wrong path eg /home/accountname
    when it has to be /disk/usr/accountname.

    So, I deleted the account using the Terminate Account function,
    but when ever I try to create the account again it says
    "Ouch, sorry that username is taken"

    I have deleted all the files and the account directory, and I've even
    deleted the entry in /etc/passwd manually yet it still says the
    username is taken.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. vishal

    vishal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf

    Hello,

    I think u forgot to check the httpd.conf file.

    Cat that file and grep for the user name if yes u know what to do.

    Regards,
    :cool:
     
  3. serveruser

    serveruser Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Yes I did check the http.conf file and there is no reference to the
    username I trying to create.

    Are there any other things that can cause this problem?

    Thanks,
    Jason.
     
  4. serveruser

    serveruser Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    unsatisfactory work-around found

    Hello,

    I found a work-around to the problem, but not a solution.

    If anyone has the same problem, I worked-around it with these
    steps:

    1. Created a different account with a different username and
    different domain

    2. Used the 'Modify an Account' function to change the username
    and domain.

    I now have the account with the username and passord I want,
    but I still don't know what the problem was and possibly
    indicates a bug in WHM.

    Thanks,
    Jason.
     
  5. rweiss

    rweiss Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here.

    I used the same workaround it seemed to work, but it's very weird.

    It seems like there's some sort of serious parsing error -- the "name" field in the password file (containing not the username, but the user's actual first/last name) was replaced for ALL users by "/user-that-we're-adding"

    VERY odd. I'm gonna report this one soon.

    Russ
     
  6. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Used the 'Modify an Account' function to change the username

    I thought that this function hadn't been perfected yet. When it were just launched it could cause problems changing the username even thought it were added to the stable version of whm. Has the cpanel team fixed the problems?

    John
     
  7. WII-Aaron

    WII-Aaron Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have this same issue. passwd, /home and http.conf are all clear. This is happening for a bunch of domains I need to move.

    Any help is apreciated.

    Aaron
     
  8. howard

    howard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    is there any trace of it in /var/cpanel/users (just taking a guess here)
     
  9. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just had this too, thanks for the work around.

    Someone's got to sit down and have a serious talk at cpanel lately it's been getting ugly.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. FredF

    FredF Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Re: unsatisfactory work-around found

    I've done that but found a nasty bug when deleting an account a couple days ago.

    Here are the steps to reproduce the problem. THIS WILL STOP HTTPD so don't do it on a box where customers are.

    1. Create an account named user1 whatever.com
    2. Rename user1 to user2 for whatever.com
    3. Create a new account user1 for thatdomain.com
    4. Terminate whatever.com

    thatdomain.com will also disappear, httpd will fail because usernames are in it for user1. and thatdomains directory in /home will be gone. Edit httpd.conf to remove anything associated with user1 or user2 that was left in it so you can restart apache.

    You won't be able to restore the backup for thatdomain.com until you go through a number of files in /etc as well and find all occurances of user1 and remove them. I was in a hurry to get a customers site back up, so did not write all the filenames down.. but it taught me to stay away from the rename function until it goes through and changes all occurances of the user name. When I have more time and a box with no customers on it, I will reproduce the error and get file names.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nothing there, nothing in apache, nothing in home, nothing in bind

    But still a error,

    I tried the switch delete thing before and it worked this time it's not letting be so lucky.

    Anyone no where else the problem could be?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Did you check the /etc/group file?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Were these bugs ever fixed?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    imho not.

    any solutions yet?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. khoonchee

    khoonchee Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi Curious Too,

    Thanks for the tips, I manage to recopy the account by checking that file after removing that entry.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. cass

    cass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina/USA/Mexico
    Hey there... I just have this issue with a client today...

    is this BIG BUG fixed already ???
    I'm using Cp/Whm 7.4 with Redhat 7.3

    A solution for this is simple ...
    1) Delete the user from group file and if it's there from httpd.conf, and if the zone for the domain is still ther, also delete it.
    2) It will still show the old account on "Modify Account", and will NOT let you create this same user again .... But... you just need to create the SAME DOMAIN with another user, it will work and create that user, now on modify account you will see the "same domain" for two usernames... heh.
    3) Now, Modify the new username created and change the username to the other username, it WILL LET YOU DO IT.

    So it's okey ... now everything is ok.
    you can terminate the account now, and everything will be cleared.

    But I'm afraid of ....
    when I looked at ... the account with the problem, was
    1) on the dns (there was a file on /var/named)
    2) on the groups (/etc/groups) it was already there
    3) on the HTTPD.CONF!!!! (/etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf)

    so... IF FOR ANY REASON, the apache wanted to restart ... it WOULD FAIL!!! because the username is non existent (it was only on the groups file, not on the passwd file)
    Damn... this is a pretty BIG BUG !!!!

    It's this FIXED?????

    I would like a solution ASAP for this...
    nobody wants apache down all the night just cause some reseller wanted to play with username changes and such things to replicate this bug....

    Regards.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. cyon

    cyon Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    great research, cass! hope this bug will be fixed asap!!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  18. theprimehost

    theprimehost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This is affecting us as well. We need a fix ASAP.

    Best Regards,
    -Darrell

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. Jemshi

    Jemshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    just a look at the account creation script should have given you the answer :)

    /scripts/wwwacct

    if (getpwnam($user) || getgrnam($user)) {
    deaderror("Ouch, sorry that username is taken");

    These are the lines which produced the error. ( the second condition, to be precise )

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. Watcher_TVI

    Watcher_TVI Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    That was enough info for me to work around this problem as well, many thanks Cass...
     

Share This Page