The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Our Reseller is bitching and moaning about suexec.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mr.wonderful, May 14, 2004.

  1. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I dont know how many times i have told this Reseller that we are running suexec on all our servers.

    He is complaining constantly that we are not yet we tell him we are. HOW CAN WE PROVE IT TO HIM?

    He claims that using the Invisions forum avatars being uploaded to his upload directory are taking on the ownership of NOBODY. Because of this his claims we are not running suexec.

    I would also like to know why this would be happening. We dont want to install phpsuexec because its too restrictive and some of our 3rd party software does not run under phpsuexec.

    How can we prove it to him?
     
  2. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Invision Board is PHP based; if you aren't running PHPsuEXEC then files uploaded via the board will be owned by nobody.
     
  4. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    suexec only affects cgi not php.
     
  5. damainman

    damainman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    doesn't phpSuExec break alot of scripts?
     
  6. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Yea, phpsuexec has wreaked lots of issues when we tried to enable it on our servers.
     
  7. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No issues at all installing it on mine. All scripts work perfectly.
     
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    phpsuexec is only really going to cause problems if you don't do the extra work needed for any existing account. I.e. setting file and directory ownerships and permissions correctly.

    Have a look at my update(s) in this post:

    http://forums.servermatrix.com/viewtopic.html?p=45532
     
  9. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You haven't had to do any of that for 6 months or more.
     
  10. tAzMaNiAc

    tAzMaNiAc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sachse, TX
    phpsuexec works flawlessly for me. We have a LOT of accounts, and lots of php stuff.
     
  11. ZachICU

    ZachICU Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You just added it with no problems at all?
     
  12. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Running phpSUEXEC with no problems


    Just have to remember you can't use PHP_VALUE in .htaccess files.. and treat php as CGI... Works fine for us.
     
  13. alex042

    alex042 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had tested phpsuexec when I was in the process of installing about 75 demo scripts and found it seemed to work on most, but for a few, it was a real pain. I found I had to run fixsuexecscripts script on every page of some scripts or would have a 500 error. In fact, it got so annoying, that I just disabled it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page